Does your family have any unique traditions?

Tony Jiang
CA-G7 Journal
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2019
Photo from 123RF

Yes, my family has some unique traditions.

I share three traditions with you from my family.

Photo from 123RF
Photo from Creativemarket

Firstly, based on the traditional Chinese culture, my family “ pai-pai” for burning incense and joss paper, such as Chinese New Year, MidAutmn Festival and Zhongyuan Festival..etc.

My mom and my sister prepare more sumptuous meals than before to offer sacrifices to the soul of ancestors. And my father and I use ghost money burner to burn joss paper.

Secondly, Giving a red envelope.

My parents give me my grandparents' red envelopes on the Eve of Chinese New Year, and My sister and I give red envelopes to my parents as well. When we receive red envelopes, we put envelopes under the pillows. The meaning of giving a red envelope is a blessing.

Photo from BORDERLESS HOUSE

Finally, my family goes to the tomb-sweeping at every Qingming Festival. When we go to the temple to worship the ancestors, we always burn joss paper and incense.

Photo from Chris Lee

--

--