Does your family have any unique traditions?

Alex Pao
CA-G7 Journal
Published in
2 min readOct 20, 2019

There are three unique traditions about my family that I would like to share with you all.

First, when I was at 18, my dad told me the tradition which is that I’ll receive a golden necklace in order to represent that I’m adult. In addition, the golden necklace is consist of lots of little golden accessories my relatives gave me when I was born. Once I was 18, my dad will take these accessories to a store to melt into a big golden necklace as my eighteen’s birthday present.

Second, this unique tradition is having a study-abroad trip at the summer vacation of graduating from high school. My family told me why they have to do this is that they want me to widen the world view and get along with other different culture people. I’m really grateful for this tradition because this help me a lot. I improved my English level rapidly and made many new friends who’s from different country as well.

Last, every new year we’ll gather to my grandmom’s house to celebrate “the new start”. We sit together and having a dinner without watching TV. Share something interesting or some goals you would like to reach in the next year. After dinner, no matter you’re elder or child we’ll give a red envelope to everyone to represent that you receive a jubilant symbol.

These are my family’s traditions, if you would like to share with yours, please feel free to contact me. We could talk about this kind of topic in details.

Thank you !

--

--