Why it can be great to be a non-native UX writer

Alane Lira
1 min readNov 30, 2020

--

There is a drawing of a woman and beside a planet with three dialogue balloons with the words “coche”, “carro” and “auto”.

When I accepted the role of UX Writer at Cabify, I asked myself if being Brazilian and writing in Spanish would be a limiting factor. Having lived in Spain for over a decade and worked for Spanish companies, I was pretty fluent in the local language. That being said, there was something I couldn’t change — I’d never be a native speaker.

After that, I immersed myself in the daily grind, leaving all doubts behind. In time, I discovered that being a non-native speaker was by no means a limiting factor but rather a distinguishing one, not only for me as a professional, but also for our team, and the company as a whole. And I’m not just saying that because my boss will read this post…

If you want to continue reading the rest of the post you can do so on the Cabify Tech blog.

https://cabify.tech/culture/why-it-can-be-great-to-be-a-non-native-UX-writer/

--

--