Meet Parth, our AI evangelist!

Anagha Natraj
Cactus Tech Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 11, 2022

Parth works to integrate AI solutions into our products to help researchers in their publication journey. Read on to know more:

What do you really do?

Evangelism means preaching, right? So, in the literal sense, I preach AI! My job is to get people excited about using AI. I drive initiatives, which are around tech or usage of AI in different products, build the overall tech community at CACTUS, and ideate on the applications and usage of AI in various offerings and products.

I also act as a consultant for the AI research team when there is a business problem to solve in terms of expanding or scaling using AI. I help in running due diligence on emerging AI technology and building collaborations with universities to get young and talented data enthusiasts to begin their journey with us.

What has been your favorite project at CACTUS?

One of them is the hackathon. It was my first project at CACTUS and I began on day 0. Within a month, I wrapped up the whole project, in a completely virtual setting. But what was interesting to me was solving how we can leverage state-of-the-art models like GPT-3 into helping the researchers. Once the hackathon got over, we took the prototypes and ideas to production which were built using GPT-3. I acted as the primary AI consultant between the business team, product team, developers, and OpenAI team so that we could seamlessly integrate it for creating not 1 but 3 different tools through which researchers can become more expressive, especially those who are not that well-versed with using English.

My next favorite project was working on the Mind the Graph acquisition. CACTUS now has the world’s largest gallery of scientific illustrations. As part of the acquisition team, I worked on understanding their patents and AI capabilities, primarily focusing on their enforceability and scalability.

Evaluating AI patents is a very interesting and niche field because how AI works is not explainable completely — the challenge then is to patent part of a solution or method. It is also very important to do this because having a product powered by technology and solutions backed by strong patents gives a lot of confidence to investors, internal stakeholders, and end users since it fundamentally helps in reviewing and demystifying certain aspects of such solutions.

How does what you do impact the world?

My work narrows the gap between the business and technology teams in terms of AI. Through the different products that we build, it adds to the larger ecosystem of the Sci-Tech space that we are disrupting and pushing new pathbreaking ways to improve the processes involved in scientific research and communication.

Has CACTUS being remote helped you?

One of the key things I picked up when I started working remotely long before the pandemic was gardening and looking after stray cats near my house. Remote work also complements my work style. I prefer working in shorter bursts rather than in the entire nine to five traditional setups.

One of the stray cats that Parth takes care of, inspecting his garden. :)

So, being remote helps me evolve as a person, not just in my technical skills, but also to understand that I do have certain other things to take care of in life, and I get time to detach and do them more often than before.

Are you looking for an impactful and enriching career in AI/ML? Apply now.

--

--