From Beer Pouring To Design Thinking.

How I shifted the course of my life with post-its and sharpies. Part I

Yolande Boulac
Cafe, Croissants and Design
2 min readFeb 10, 2019

--

Me as I woke up this morning.

PROLOGUE

“What the f*** am I doing here” … “Mate, the head size on your beer is FINE” … “MAFS is on tonight and I am stuck here”.

Flashback to my bartending life 3 months ago, as I sip on my coffee and frantically try to get my lunchbox to fit in my small backpack, focusing my nerves on those small details rather than the fact that today is my first day “BackToSchool”. Yes, as of today, I am a full-time UX Design student at the one and only Academy Xi.

Suited with my lucky pen, lucky watch, and lucky bracelet (I couldn’t find my lucky socks), I stride towards my new Kingdom of Knowledge, my head full of dreams and my eyes full of…sun — I forgot my sunnies. With half an eye on Maps & half an eye on the road, I try not to bump into those white shirts and their takeaway morning coffees.

To be honest with you, it was more of a clumsy/ball-of-nerves kind of stride. My palms were sweaty, knees weak, arms were heavy… we know how that goes. Nevertheless I arrive at Xi with 10 minutes to spare. A few people are already there, and we are soon greeted by Kevin who explains to us what is going to be happening in the next 15 minutes. The rest of the Xi team then introduces themselves to us, as well as our instructor Rob, and we blindly follow him into a nearby room with whiteboards & freshly installed, soft-feeling but fake, green grass.

--

--

Yolande Boulac
Cafe, Croissants and Design

UX Designer | Designing to make a difference | Croissants are life