Samra Blend vol. 1

Omar Bayramoglu
caffeinatedthoughts
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

Disclaimer: I share links to Blue Bottle but do not get anything in return from them.

A photo of the Samra Blend Vol. 1 coffee bag.

Given the choice between single-origin coffee and a blend, I would opt for the blend every time. At the outset of my coffee exploration, blends seemed too divergent from single origins, a fact that my palate struggled to reconcile. I believe this remains true today. However, as is often the case, I’ve stumbled upon a coffee blend that distinguishes itself from the rest. This time, it’s courtesy of the Matriarch.

As I worked to get the right balance of notes, each sip was better than the last. Like my recent reviews, this comes from Blue Bottle Coffee.

Blue Bottle collaborated with Abel Tesfaye and his mother, Samra, to craft a coffee experience suitable for a traditional Ethiopian coffee ceremony. The blend boasts “notes of juicy raspberry and citrus that fuse with rich caramel and a floral aroma, transporting you to an Ethiopia that exists in Samra’s memory and was passed down to Abel.”

Some technicalities.

Equipment:

1. Grinder: Baratza Encore with stock burr grinder.
2. Scale: Acaia Pearl
3. Kettle: Fellow Stagg EKG Pro
4. Brewing: I used my glass Hario V60 and my Fellow Stagg XF Dripper. I brew for an average of 3:30, plus or minus two minutes or so over four pours.

I found that this particular bean yielded the best results with the Hario V60. My first brew attempt was at 30.1g at 210°F with a grind size of nineteen. The result was something very new. I like Ethiopian coffee in general. This had a distinct taste, probably because it was a blend. A few days later, I replicated the same recipe but, for some reason, couldn’t achieve the same brew. I like to think of myself as a consistent brewer. I guess I still have work to do.

When the weekend arrived, I decided to give it another shot. This time, I adjusted the grinder to twenty and hit the sweet spot. Each sip was bursting with notes of raspberry and citrus. Even my mother-in-law, who isn’t particularly knowledgeable about specialty coffee, was able to discern the notes. I was immensely proud of this cup. I experimented with the Stagg XF a few times. While each brew was satisfactory, none could match the flavor explosion of the V60 brews.

I highly recommend this bean. It was a transformative experience that has inspired me to explore other blends. Thank you, Samra!

If you like this work, contribute to it at the link on the bottom by my face. It keeps coffee coming and experiences shared.

Thank you.

--

--

Omar Bayramoglu
caffeinatedthoughts

After 35 years, I learned how to construct sentences and put together ideas. From NJ to the Bay and now in CT, here's my shot. Thank you for being here.