Listen, Step Up, Include, Love 💖 ✊🏿 🌈

In social media, but also in real life

Calamaro
Calamaro — ink and rides
6 min readMay 19, 2021

--

It was 2018 when I participated in the last Berliner Fahrradschau.
I took 2 talks there: one with my good friend Jon of TwoTone Ams (here in the gif) talking about vibes on the show and his first Silk Road Mountain Race, and the other solo, talking about my thoughts of what a Social Media presence has to be in 2018 on cycling content but not only.
A lot of things changed by then, ultimately we are in 2021 now, but there was a point I still believe in, and I probably always will: stand for what you believe and don’t be afraid of being redundant on topics you care of and to engage in complex and valuable conversations with your community.
And I don’t want to refer here only to social media, but also in your daily conversations that happen on your digital devices, on the phone, in front of a coffee at work, during a ride in your backyard.
It happens to me all the time, and when I am exposed to some comments or statements even lightly racist, sexist, homophobic, transphobic, biphobic, classist, and you name what, I take my time to talk about it. But I also always try to follow just a couple of guidelines:
🦊 Never insult or drop any judgment: it doesn’t work in the long run. But still call things by their name: it is important.
🐹 A long explanation is always worth it: no punchline would ever let people think about complex topics.
🐨 Admit I’m not omni-knowledgeable: very often I don’t know so much about a topic or how to start a conversation. In this case, I make my research and I prefer doing it by talking with somebody who knows more than I do. Internet doesn’t know it all, people do.
🦆 Expose myself to uncomfortable conversations: somebody else’s point of view gives me different perspectives and a good platform to conversate.
🐧 Think before talking, posting, or commenting: in general of course, but especially on important topics.
🐙 Never be afraid of taking a step back and apologize: it doesn’t matter how careful I can be, I make mistakes and it happens often. In this case, I’m ready to apologize with a constructive spirit, because if I hurt anybody I need to say sorry.
🦦 Listen Listen Listen: the only way to know and learn. And to have a good conversation as well.

If by reading these few lines you felt touched, doubtful, angry, pleased, just give me a shout.
This issue is gonna be a bit different than usual, I shuffled a bit the content chart and will start with some content about representation, inclusion and freedom. If you like it, please consider paying me a coffee, the link is down here 👇

Representation Colors 🌈

If you don’t understand it right away at least be respectful

I found this video really refreshing. It’s not new, but it talks about a community claiming no problems of inclusivity. But, apparently, there were and are some, so for this reason Jeff Grosso invited many representatives of the queer skateboarding community to talk about it and say that at the end of the day you just need to be yourself and be respectful.
Loveletter To LGBTQ+ | Jeff Grosso’s Loveletters to Skateboarding 🛹

I thought about how scared I was when I was younger and want kids to avoid it now

Can we define Brian Anderson as one of the strongest skateboarders of all time? Yes, we can: skateboarder of the Year for Thrasher Magazine in 1999, World Cup Winner in Dortumund 1999, multisponsored, pro skateboarder. A steasy, explosive, classy skateboarder who had to hide his sexuality until some years ago because he was scared of people’s reactions. If something like this happens it means there’s something wrong. BA came out publicly in 2016 to make a statement: anybody has to feel safe on coming out because the skateboard community has to be open and welcoming. As every community has to be.
Brian Anderson on Being a Gay Professional Skateboarder 🦄

If we are telling you there is an issue it means that there is one

Let’s move to a new board. I really like the Looking Sideways Podcast. It’s a great source of inspiration sport-wise (especially now that I got in love with snowboarding), adventures-wise, and content-wise. Matt is a great host, he chooses awesome topics to talk about and knows when to take a moment to reflect. And that’s what happened in the last special episode linked here: one year ago the podcast hosted the story of Terje Haakonsen’s. The episode itself created a huge controversy and the consequential apology did even worst. After these episodes, Matt wanted to dig into the homophobia topic and talked with his friend and snowboarder Lauren MacCallum. Together they went through many society buried prejudices and the way to handle the problem.
Lauren MacCallum on Looking Sideways Podcast 🎿

This is a story of freedom

I’m completely ignorant about American History. I know something about the American Revolution a tiny bit about the Civil War and a pinch more about the contemporary years. But when I read about the Underground Railroad it was completely new to me. And I got to know this story from a man, Erick Cedeño who went through the Underground Railroad with his bike to feel the story of people of color running away from slavery and seek their freedom. I got honored of having him on the BroomWagon Podcast 🚌 to talk about this story, and our chat became not only a story of cycling but more a story of freedom.
Erick Cedeno Underground Railroad #BicycleNomad ✊🏿

Cycling Glimpses 💖

Ride your clunker to fall in love with your bike

May 1st and 2nd 2021 was Clunkers’ Ride weekend, an initiative promoted by Shift Cycling Culture to let you dust off your old bike and ride it with your friends. That’s what Peter and I did on Saturday: kinda weird weather day but full of smiles, chats, songs, cakes, and crashes. Not only into bikes.
Clunkers’ Ride Zurich 🌍

This is also the Tour of Flanders: chaotic and hectic

Probably this is the media issue I wait for the most for the entire year. A “behind the scene” of Tour of Flanders where you can see the Ronde of all the protagonists: cyclists, soigneurs, cars, photographers, journalists, commentators. Flanders Classic just released the video for the race of 2020: take your time, a flemish beer and a pack of fries and watch this jewel. Then let me know if you love Michel Wuyts as much as I do.
De Ronde 104 — Behind The Scenes 💎

Cheers 🍻

Thanks a lot for reading ‘till here. Don’t forget to share it with your friends and see you later. You want to tell me something, give me feedback or shout at my mouth? Hit reply and let me know. 🎯
And remember I am free for freelance tasks so, if you need help with your email, campaigns, content creation and online marketing stefanonucera.com

--

--