The Holy Week #2

4 friends, 4 events and circa 10 kg of pasta and 1 daily podcast

Calamaro
Calamaro — ink and rides
4 min readJun 4, 2019

--

– For the podcast playlist jump at the 🍑 of the article –

It’s this time of the year, again. June the 15th will see the kick off of the Holy Week #2: 9 days from Saturday to Sunday climbing the most breathtaking mountains from the eastern Alps.

The Holy Week #1

Everything started late 2017: planning how to enjoy bicycle’s vacations after a long year riding on flat roads:

Calamaro: I really need to climb some proper mountains this year, I think the best idea is to go on the Etape du Tour.
Donato: Good idea Stefano, if you do it I come with you, as usual.
Calamaro: Deal then, let’s book some tickets now. It is on the 8th of July.
Donato: 8th of July? That’s cool, do you know that Maratona dles Dolomites will happen exactly one week before?
Calamaro: No, come on, Maratona no.
Luciano: Maratona dles Dolomites. Cool, I’ve already pre-subscribed to it.
Donato: You see?
Calamaro: Eddai!
Donato: I pre-subscribe to it for you, let’s see.

Calamaro: Dammit, they’ve chosen me.
Donato: Me as well.
Luciano: Me as well.
Simon: Likewise.
Calamaro: Who the hell is this one?
Simon: That’s Simon.
Calamaro: And?
Simon: And I was thinking that in between of Maratona and Etape we should tackle also some other climbs, like: Stelvio, Gavia, Mortirolo, Colle delle Finestre.
Calamaro: Ellallero.
Donato: I’m in.
Luciano: I’m in.
Simon: You see?
Calamaro: Oh Gosh, the Holy Week.
Donato, Luciano, Simon: THE HOLY WEEK.

This is how the Holy Week concept was born.

And here we are with the Holy Week #2

So, this year we will do the same, but in a different shape. We will still start from the Dolomites, but not with the Maratona dles Dolomites, but with the Sportful Dolomiti Gran Fondo

After that, some random climbs: Monte Zoncolan, Monte Grappa, Monte Mangart, San Simeone, Vršič Pass, Matajur; all between Italy and Slovenia in the Julian Alps. Trying not to get killed by the positive gradient.

The Team

Unfortunately, this year Luciano won’t be on our side with this stupid adventure, but he will be backed up by Louis, Belgian kid with strong legs and hopefully as strong spirit.

The Plan

Here a detailed plan of our Holy Week:

June the 15th, Saturday: From Zürich to Feltre (by train)
June the 16th, Sunday: Sportful Dolomites
June the 17th, Monday: Moving to Abano Terme and Thermal Relaxing (hopefully textile free)
June the 18th, Tuesday: Still relaxing but I will push to go to the San Boldo Pass
June the 19th, Wednesday: Monte Grappa + Dropkick Murphys Concert June the 20th, Thursday: Moving to Bovec and riding on Zoncolan + San Simeone
June the 21st, Friday: Matajur + Canyoning
June the 22nd, Saturday: Queen Stage: Mangart + Vrsic

If you want to join us on any stage or just say hi and drink a beer at the concert, just give us a shout. I would love to ride also some gravel roads between Monday and Tuesday, so, if you know a road and you have a spare gravel bike, just ping me.

What will I ride?

Yeah, I’ve asked you for a spare gravel bike, because I will ride the Holy Week #2 with my 3t Strada, comfortable, yes, but not as comfortable as it could be an Exploro.

3t Strada Team Red Etap

What will the other ones ride?

What are gonna be the other ones’ ride I really don’t know, I believe that you only have to follow us on the Social Media for that.
A good idea to do it: follow #theholyweek2 on Instagram and you will see everything.

We take the sun seriously

Because outdoor sports happen, as the word itself says, outdoor, we take our skin protection pretty seriously. I’m too scared by ultraviolet rays, that’s why I asked to my friend Paul from puru.ch to support us with some of his natural sunscreens.
And because of this I also got something for you people: just follow the link https://puru.ch/BroomWagon10
And get your 10% discount on any of Puru’s products. And protect your skin with this or with any sunscreen around. Please do it.

And the Podcast as well

During the Holy Week #2 you can listen to our voice directly from a Broom Wagon special daily podcast Holy Week edition. You can follow it anywhere: Spotify, Apple Podcast, Google Podcast, or Spreaker (👇).

See you up to the mountain people 🚌

--

--