Anxiety and Depression

Adjusting to a World Where I am No Longer Bipolar

After Two Decades of Medication, My Diagnoses Have Changed

Joe Arshawsky
California Sober

--

The Author at Burning Man, 2004.

In 2003, I was diagnosed with Bipolar I Disorder after a single manic, psychotic episode. I have detailed this in other articles.

On January 4, 2018, I had my last drink of alcohol. I, therefore, recently celebrated my fourth anniversary.

Alcohol-induced psychotic disorders involve secondary psychotic episodes that may be similar in presentation to other primary psychoses but arise due to alcohol-related conditions. Alcohol-induced psychotic disorders are treated simply by abstaining from alcohol.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

My new psychiatrist, an MD with over 40 years of experience, began by removing my litany of bipolar medications: Depakote, Lamictal, Trazadone, Lexapro, and Zyprexa. I suddenly became alive and was able to feel emotions.

I still have post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), for which there is no conventional medical. My medical marijuana helps. I have a generalized anxiety disorder, which I now treat with Klonopin. I am clinically depressed and take Wellbutrin as my new drug, which has stopped me from crying and being more negatively emotional.

Photo by Myriam Zilles on Unsplash

The preceding substitutions represent quite the change in drug regimen. I have had to undergo a significant psychic reorientation. More importantly, I have lived since 2003 with a diagnosis of Bipolar I Disorder, and now I learn that the previously diagnosed manic episode is appropriately recharacterized as alcohol-induced psychosis.

For one thing, I can no longer blame my bipolar disorder for lapses in judgment or otherwise for being an asshole. I have to own those actions as my own and not the product of a disease.

Maintaining my sobriety is even more paramount than it already was. In addition to all the other harmful things that would happen if I resumed drinking alcohol, I might go psychotic and end up in an institution.

I am in a much bigger segment of the pool. Probably half of the AA members suffer from depression, and in the pandemic era, anxiety is twice as common as it was before.

Bipolar I Disorder is diagnosed correctly in less than two percent of the population. I bid a fond farewell to that elite group.

But it does not change the fact that the police mistreated me when I was psychotic or the need to continue fighting police brutality! #BipolarLivesMatter. https://www.BipolarLivesMatter.org.

Thank you for reading my article. If you join Medium through this link, you can get all of my stories, as well as millions more. Please join my readers’ list at https://CaliforniaSoberJoe.com for the earliest information about my forthcoming book.

--

--

Joe Arshawsky
California Sober

Creator. California Sober evangelist. Recovering lawyer.