Stress Reduction

Coping With Anxiety, Panic Attacks, and Even Manic Episodes

I Just Survived a Major Bout of All Three

Joe Arshawsky
California Sober
Published in
4 min readApr 30, 2023

--

2022 was a rough year for me. My treating psychiatrist took me off my bipolar I medications and then put me on an anti-depressant that shot me off on the manic end like a rocket ship! I have experienced moderate to severe anxiety and panic attacks for twelve months. Several doctors diagnosed me with a severe manic episode with mixed (manic-depressive) features and psychosis.

Self-portrait of the Anxious Author

Ultimately, I have had to use medications to bring me back in line. Still, for over twelve months, I was either unmedicated or undermedicated. Therefore I had to use coping skills to deal with these uncomfortable feelings. This article describes how I managed those paralyzing thoughts and attitudes.

I no longer attend A.A. for a variety of reasons. First and foremost, I did a ton of group therapy work. But I have found quite a lot of supportive meetings online. Currently, I go to meetings at Green Recovery and Sobriety Support (G.R.A.S.S.), which I prefer to Alcoholics Anonymous because I can be open and honest about my use of medical marijuana without fear of being shamed by people’s lectures. I also go to meetings run by the Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (D.B.S.A.) which has support…

--

--

Joe Arshawsky
California Sober

Creator. California Sober evangelist. Recovering lawyer.