Tough Decision

I Cut Off a Friend I Made This Year

He Was Not the Only One. What Are Your Red Lines and Boundaries?

Joe Arshawsky
California Sober

--

2021 has been the year of “issues with friends.” This year, in a GRASS meeting: Green Recovery and Sobriety Support, I met and later became friends with a young man who lives down south, I will call “Timmy.” Timmy and I hit it off, and we spent many nights on video chat, smoking joints, and talking about life. I would encourage him to finish his 4th Step. He had someone else as a sponsor. I was just a friend with more extended sobriety helping a newcomer.

Photo by Kevin Gil Musñgi on Unsplash

A couple of Sundays ago, he called crying and told me he relapsed on his destruction drug after attending an art festival in a nearby big city. I do not have a problem with that. I have no problem that he procured the cocaine from a sex worker. I would have had no problem had he gotten busted for possession.

But he crossed a red line. He told me that he called his ex-lover and threatened the lover’s life while he was back home from the big city. Timmy was charged with stalking, a felony carrying a 2 to 10-year sentence, and picked up by police. A mutual friend said she “stands by her friends” and tried to make me feel bad. I told her I do not side with domestic abusers.

Block, block, block, unfriend, my trend continues.

Photo by Kevin Gil Musñgi on Unsplash

I lost another friend who I met in law school in 1985. He and I used to drink and smoke pot together and occasionally do some blow. I will call him “Jimmy.” Jimmy and I shared another thing. Starting in the late 2000s, we went downhill fast. He went into rehab, dropped out, and kept drinking. He got two DUI’s since then. I have seen videos recently of him falling on his face, rolling on the ground with a bloody head. I got onto the recovery train in 2009 and have not had a drink since January 4, 2018. I still smoke my medical marijuana. Nevertheless, Jimmy called me a “Carry Nation” for begging him to stop drinking.

I could not bear to watch Jimmy slowly commit suicide at this point. He has liver and brain damage. I had to cut him off. That one really pained me, but it was terrible for MY sobriety to stay involved in his life. Block, block, block, unfriend.

Photo by Kevin Gil Musñgi on Unsplash

I cut off another friend that I have known for 10 years. He’s a rabid anti-vaxxer with borderline personality disorder who infuriates me. I cannot handle that kind of negativity in my life. Block, block, block, unfriend.

I had 540 friends on Facebook. Now I am down to 201. I eliminated people who did not speak to me or respond to me. A lot of these were “status friends” that I kept for feeling important. I don’t need them.

I will block anyone who harms children, commits sexual assault or domestic violence. I do not care how long they have been my friends. I must set borders and boundaries to preserve my sanity.

Thank you for reading my article. If you join Medium through this link, you can get all of my stories, as well as millions more. Please join my readers’ list at https://CaliforniaSoberJoe.com for earliest information about my forthcoming book.

--

--

Joe Arshawsky
California Sober

Creator. California Sober evangelist. Recovering lawyer.