Life Discovery: Biography, Journey, Program (and a possible book, Part 1)

Oliver Ding
CALL4
Published in
16 min readJul 1, 2022

--

Three metaphors for the Life Discovery Project and a possible book

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

The Life-as-Project Approach is inspired by Project-oriented Activity Theory, Anticipatory Systems Theory, Curativity Theory, and other theoretical resources, it was developed with the following six basic principles:

  • Being by Doing
  • Engagement as Projection
  • End as Means
  • Discovery as Development
  • Performance as Experiment
  • Curativity as Creativity

In the past six months, I applied the Life-as-Project approach to Life Discovery Activity and developed a series of tools such as a toolkit, a canvas, and several models and frameworks.

I also joined the following three Life Discovery Projects:

  • Shaper & Supporter Lab: I am a researcher.
  • The AAS Board: I am a coach and a service designer.
  • The Slow Cognition Project (Phase I): I am a creator.

This journey is documented in many articles I wrote in this publication. Today I will reflect on the journey and outline a TOC for editing a possible book.

--

--

Oliver Ding
CALL4

Founder of CALL(Creative Action Learning Lab), information architect, knowledge curator.