The Born of Optimal Context Canvas

Oliver Ding
CALL4
Published in
14 min readMar 5, 2022

--

How did I design a new knowledge canvas with a diagram?

Photo by Mohammad takhsh on Unsplash

Yesterday I designed a new knowledge canvas called Optimal Context which is based on Life Discovery Canvas and the Landscape of Opportunity.

Why did I design the Optimal Context Canvas?

In the past several weeks, some friends talked about the topic of Ecosystems with me. I recommend my 2021 book Platform for Development: The Ecology of Adult Development in the 21st Century as a reference. Here the term Platform refers to Developmental Platforms which is an intermediate concept. The book aims to offer a new perspective for understanding the “Self—Social Contexts” relationships in the age of the platform.

However, the concept of Developmental Platforms is too abstract. There is a gap between my book and my friends.

Last month, I worked on the Life Discovery Toolkit and the Life Discovery Canvas. These two things were developed for my friends who want to understand life strategy and life development in general.

Inspired by the Life Discovery Canvas, I designed the Optimal Context Canvas to expand Platform-for-Development to Ecosystem-for-Development. This article shares the design wisdom behind the process.

The Infoniche Model

--

--

Oliver Ding
CALL4

Founder of CALL(Creative Action Learning Lab), information architect, knowledge curator.