Slow Cognition: It takes a village to raise a creative mind

Oliver Ding
CALL4
Published in
11 min readMay 25, 2022

--

Significant Insights Analysis: A case study of the historical-cognitive approach

Photo by Mark Basarab on Unsplash

On April 26, 2021, I sent an email to a friend of mine and introduced my book The ECHO Way which reflects on my journey of writing three books in six months.

I coined a new term called Slow Cognition to describe my favorite methods such as Howard E. Gruber’s evolving systems approach to creative work.

Scholars use Hot Cognition and Cold Cognition to describe two types of cognitive studies. Cold cognition refers to the pure cognitive processing of information that is independent of emotional involvement. Hot cognition considers emotional aspects.

You probably read Daniel Kahneman’s 2011 book Thinking, Fast and Slow which highlights two models of thought: System 1 and System 2.

My term Slow Cognition is related to System 2. However, I personally don’t like the System 1/System 2 framework because I adopt Keith E. Stanovich’s model of three types of mind: Autonomous mind, Algorithmic mind, and Reflective Mind.

The major difference between my term Slow Cognition and Kahneman/Stanovich’s terms is research methods. My term Slow Cognition refers to the historical-cognitive approach which is about the long-term development of thoughts. Cognitive…

--

--

Oliver Ding
CALL4

Founder of CALL(Creative Action Learning Lab), information architect, knowledge curator.