The ECHO Way: Waterfall, Bridge, and Creative Life

Oliver Ding
CALL4
Published in
19 min readMar 28, 2024

--

A metaphor for the ECHO Way

In June 2020, I published an article titled HERO U — A New Framework for Knowledge Heroes. This is the beginning of my creative journey of developing Creative Life Theory.

From August 2020 to March 2021, I used the HERO U framework to guide the Activity U project which is about curating theoretical resources of Activity Theory into a meaningful whole. The project produced three books (drafts): Activity U, Project-oriented Activity Theory, and Platform for Development.

In April 2021, I joined an online program and shared my reflection about the HERO U framework and the Activity U project. Eventually, I wrote a new book called THE ECHO WAY in Chinese in April. It is a 312-page draft.

The book is about The ECHO Way (v1.0).

Later, I applied the HERO U framework to other domains such as Platform Innovation, Personal innovation, and Youth Development. In fact, I just reused the source of the HERO U framework: WXMY (When X Meets Y), a diagram for visualizing boundary innovation.

On June 30, 2021, I introduced the Echo Way (v2.0) and expanded it from Knowledge Curation to Boundary Innovation.

--

--

Oliver Ding
CALL4

Founder of CALL(Creative Action Learning Lab), information architect, knowledge curator.