The Build Up

Callie White
Callie Takes Europe
3 min readJul 25, 2016

Hello, everyone! The day is July 25th, 2016 and I am closing in on my final days in the states for over two weeks! I am creating a blog for two reasons: 1) I think it will be a blast to document and share my experiences as a I travel to two countries I have only ever dreamed about visiting! 2) It is a class assignment (Which is genius). I have never kept a blog before, so bear with me if the first few entries are a little rough. I hope you enjoy following my journey with Kansas State University students to Paris, France through Europe, and finishing in Madrid, Spain. :)

Here’s the scoop on how this all started:

Back in April, I was meeting with my academic advisor at K-State to enroll for the fall 2016 semester. I had my classes all picked out, my schedule just the way I liked it and I was ultimately ready for summer to begin. During our conversation, I had mentioned not being eligible for the Costa Rica study abroad trip in an upcoming semester and how disappointed I was I would not get to go. A woman in the room next door had overheard that portion of our conversation, and reached out to me before I left. She handed my a pamphlet with “Study Abroad to France and Spain” on the front of it. She then told me to go upstairs immediately if I was at all seriously considering going. In the back of my mind, I knew this was crazy — I literally came to this building just to finalize my fall schedule and now I am thinking I will study in another country. WHAT. So, I took a leap of faith. I went upstairs, found the professor who would conduct the trip was not there, but did not stop. I emailed Dr. Bardhan as soon as possible with my serious interest in studying abroad with her. Why the rush, might you ask? The course would be starting August 1st, 2016 in Paris, France and it was the end of April.

On top of preparing for finals and moving back home for the summer, I took a chance and asked for my parents’ support in my desire to study abroad. Luckily, they previously knew about my deep interest in studying abroad at some point during college. I called my mom the second my email to Dr. Bardhan (the course professor) indicated it sent. I had approximately two weeks before a sound decision had to be made and apply for study abroad. After a few lengthy discussions with my parents, the trip was a go. All that remained was paperwork and buying a plane ticket.

After all of the application work was finished, I was accepted to study abroad and my plane ticket was purchased. In the months leading up to today, mom and I have gone shopping for all of the essentials, planned packing, arranged activities for my time there before class, and more recently, calmed my nerves following the attack in Nice, France. While I am nervous in general about traveling solo internationally, I know this is a once in a lifetime opportunity that not very many get. Despite expected nerves, I am more than excited to travel and study overseas.

Taken in Derby, KS. My hometown water tower, the night before I left for Europe!

The course I am studying in Europe is titled, “Intercultural Communication”. During the two weeks, we will be learning about Muslim immigration and Muslim communities in France, Immigration and cosmopolitan cultures, Islam in Spain and Europe, Spanish History, politics, and the media in Spain. While this is just a short list of topics we will cover, I will ultimately gain a better understanding of why the world is the way it is and a huge appreciation for European food! I am more than excited to broaden my horizon and understanding of the world we live in. I hope all those who follow my blog enjoy it, and share with others!

~And then I realized adventures are the best way to learn~

--

--

Callie White
Callie Takes Europe

I am a junior at Kansas State University and this is my blog following my study abroad trip to France and Spain — enjoy!