Sitting By The Canal

A Sufi poem about falling in love with the simple moments in life

Minty Horseradish
Calliope Muse
1 min readMar 13, 2021

--

The sun hits my face
And my heart melts
With tears of a thousand
Notes on love
Like the warm kisses
Of my Beloved
That takes my breath away
I am embraced
Held by the tenderness
Of this moment

Shoes pass me by
And I wonder
Where are all my Lovers going
What are your stories?
What are your thoughts?
Do you hear the same
Melody that plays
In my Soul right now?

I find him everywhere
My Beloved
He’s in the expansive sky
He’s the dirt on the cement
His eyes sweep the hair from my face
His hand gently holds mine
As I carry my world
In a bag, down the street

I wish moments like these
Could last an eternity
But the wind gently reminds me
That there is always flux
Glide and fly
Space is a fabric of eternal love
That will always carry me
To all my Beloveds

--

--

Minty Horseradish
Calliope Muse

Environmentalist, educator, engineer and psychotherapist-wanna-be. I’m a Poet and 浪漫 .