365 Days of Productivity

Tool or Toy? Three Weeks Living With an Echo Dot

Is it a useful device for freelancers or just another toy for adults?

John Teehan
Cambium
Published in
7 min readJan 23, 2020

--

Source: pexels.com

Please note that this article primarily discusses the Echo Dot from Amazon. This piece contains no affiliate marketing or other commercial links. Beyond what few meager pennies I may get from Medium’s Partnership Program, no one is paying me for this post.

Like many people this past holiday season, I received an Amazon Echo Dot.

Welcome to living in the future.

I’ve wanted one of these for a while. A lot of friends had one or something similar and seemed to enjoy them. From what I knew of the Dot previous to owning one, I knew I could listen to music and get recipe suggestions and weather updates and the like. Still, because productivity has been on my mind a lot lately, I wondered how well an Echo Dot would serve me as a work-related tool.

It’s been three weeks since I’ve first asked, “Alexa, what is love?”

Here are my thoughts on owning the Amazon Echo Dot.

The elephant in the room — privacy

The first draft of this article included a lengthy discussion on the privacy issues…

--

--

John Teehan
Cambium

Writer specializing in tech, business, parenting, pop culture, and gaming. Visit wordsbyjohn.net for more info and rates. Twitter: @WordsByJohn2