365 Days of Productivity

Why I Started Using a Traditional Daily Planner in the Digital Age

It’s not a hipster thing. It’s a productivity and organization thing

John Teehan
Cambium
Published in
6 min readJan 13, 2020

--

Source: piqsels.com

I’m a busy person.

So are you.

It could be easily argued that we’re too busy and that the challenge of staying organized and on a schedule is becoming counter-productive.

There’s just too much. Things were getting lost in the mix.

I may have found a solution.

Three weeks ago I bought a daily planner, then moved all of my work-related tasks to that and took them off of my phone’s Google calendar.

It has made all the difference.

All-digital organizing was not working for me

Between all that I have going on throughout the week as a husband and father, a freelance writer, a freelance layout person, and… y’know… regular person, things were getting lost in the shuffle. I was forgetting doctor appointments and family events at our library because the notifications were coming in along with all of the reminders to finish an article or contact a business, or upload files to a printer or any other little task coming my way.

--

--

John Teehan
Cambium

Writer specializing in tech, business, parenting, pop culture, and gaming. Visit wordsbyjohn.net for more info and rates. Twitter: @WordsByJohn2