Climate Emergency: A Poem by our President

Cambridge Hub
Cambridge Hub
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2021
Megan Lloyd explores the effects of climate change (Image: @ William Bossen)

In a new series of blog posts, we will be posting a series of submissions written by you- our readers and members. If you would like to submit an article, poem, story, or even just an idea on any subject regarding social action, please email communityprojects@cambridgehub.org. We would love to hear from you!

The first in these posts is a brilliant poem written by our wonderful President, Megan Lloyd. Megan is an English student here at Cambridge and has written this poem on the topic of climate change.

CLIMATE EMERGENCY

Plastic waste on global news.

It makes me feel sick.

Buy a megaphone so you can shout it from the rooftops,

Delivered next day with Amazon Prime.

Reduce Reuse Recycle Resent Refuse.

Too many R’s to remember.

I’m trying to save the world with my menstrual cup

But I don’t know if it’s working yet.

I say no to straws and plastic cups.

Some say it’s well intentioned;

Stylish but senseless.

Guilty, I scroll past another article

By a despairing reporter

My eyes half closed

Because I just can’t take it anymore.

David Attenborough only makes me cry.

But what do tears matter now?

Earth is slowly splintering.

Torn down by collective action.

Glittering eyes and greedy smiles.

We’re facing a coal powered behemoth who’s fond of decimation.

And he looks just like us.

Funding his tall towers

With colossal destruction.

But if She can be shattered by human hands

Perhaps those hands Her back together,

Reaffix the fragments of our fractured globe,

That she may continue to breathe.

--

--