Film Spotlight – Fujifilm Provia400X Cross-Processed

P2P
Camera Obscura
3 min readJul 14, 2020

--

The 2010s put paid to quite a few film stocks, and none were more happy to throw their creations under the bus than Fujifilm.

Judging by their medium format digital camera offerings, it’s easy to see that they had other things on their mind, but it still smarts to see an effective monopoly business remove slide film after slide film (they were in a market of precisely one at the time).

Kodak has since rereleased Ektachrome E100, a slide film it originally discontinued in 2012.

So Provia 400x bit the dust back in 2013, and before all the remaining stocks were purchased, I bought a few rolls of 120 and put them in a vac-pack in the freezer for posterity.

Hiding in the freezer bottom drawer are 10 rolls of 400X

When this publishing malarkey works out, I’ll get round to buying myself another MF film camera – I’m thinking Pentax 645 at present and thaw it out.

I did manage to shoot a roll of 35mm Provia 400x in my little Olympus XA2 on a canoeing trip down the river Wye in Herefordshire, and had it cross processed.

The film is grainy, and the colours are super saturated, so if you’re looking to use the results commercially, you’ll need to shoot MF as a minimum, but I have to say I really like the result.

Compared to other films I’ve cross processed, which gave a horrid green / brown cast, I’d definitely X-process Provia 400x again.

The pictures were shot at box speed, using the XA2’s basic light meter in bright sunlight. I’d avoid exposing in overcast light, as you don’t get the same effect. What do you think? Vignette, loads of contrast, super saturated. Those greens and blues! Certainly punchy.

You can still find expired films on eBay, some of which will have been temperature stored, so if you’re in the mood to experiment, why not buy a roll or two and wait for a sunny day.

You’ll get a large proportion of keepers, I guarantee it.

--

--