Hailey’s Students of the Year Fundraiser

Camp IHC
Camp IHC
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2022

--

By Hailey Brandt

Hey IHC!

I’m Hailey Brandt, and I am a junior from Long Island, ready to be a CIT for Summer 2022! I have the privilege of leading a team of incredible, highly driven students that have come together to raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society as a part of this year’s Students of the Year campaign. The Students of the Year campaign is a competition across Long Island where various schools compete for 7 weeks to raise as much money as possible. The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society has invested $1.2 billion towards advancing nearly every therapy used to treat blood cancer patients to date. These life saving innovations are not only curing patients with blood cancers, but are also helping to heal those with other cancers and diseases. The LLS also stands for equal treatment, opportunities and rights for BIPOC, members of the LGBTQIA+ community, people with disabilities, veterans and other underrepresented groups. I’ve seen family and close friends fight through Leukemia and no patient or their family deserves to suffer through that pain. I am taking part in this campaign to help end all cancers and to be the voice for those who need our help being heard.

My desire to help stems from the lessons learned at Camp IHC. From Friday night campfire speeches about the privilege we have to participating in dance-a-thons for Project Morry, IHC has taught me the importance of giving back. I have learned to embrace what is given to me, and I try to use it to do good in the world. As a CIT I am honored and excited to be able to share the importance of helping others with the rest of the community by planning the various Project Morry fundraisers I have loved for the past 8 Summers.

Thank you in advance for supporting me and my efforts. See you soon!!

Hailey Brandt

Learn more or donate here: https://events.lls.org/li/lisoy22/hbrandt22

--

--

Camp IHC
Camp IHC

A sleepaway camp where the stories told are more magical than you could ever imagine.