Studio IHC — 2023 Music Album

Camp IHC
Camp IHC
Published in
4 min readOct 16, 2023

Coming to IHC from a different summer camp last year was a pretty drastic change for me; IHC is a HUGE place with A LOT more people! However, my purpose and intention remained unchanged: to get as many kids to have fun playing and writing music as I could and to guide them in self expression through the art form. While I had one year of summer camp under my belt, being at a new camp came with its own set of challenges for me. There were a huge number of staff for me to meet and of course 700 new kids for me to get to know (all of whom expect you to immediately remember their names!). But little by little I became more comfortable in this new summer home. I quickly got to know a number of kids who are fantastic players and songwriters and loved spending as much time as possible in the music studio, whether that be to write, record, or just hang out and jam. And with every passing day I could feel the creativity flowing a little easier, and I knew we’d end the summer with an album everyone could be very proud of.

Some of my favorite moments this summer came when a camper really took charge of a project and clearly had a vision in mind to fulfill. Seeing the excitement in their eyes and the gears turning in their head as the song started to take shape is one of the best feelings, because everyone in the room starts to feed off of that same energy.

And of course this summer wouldn’t have gone the way it did without my co-director Dave Bolaño by my side to guide me and show me “how it is” at IHC. I’m so glad I feel I can call him a friend of mine, and he deserves so much recognition for the way he has shaped this music program in the five summers he’s been here. Having now met and worked so closely with Dave this summer, it’s a bit disappointing I won’t be working with him next year, but at the same time I’m incredibly excited to build upon his work and continue to create more opportunities for the kids.

My final thanks go to our full-time music assistant Mannuel Santiago who is an amazing and knowledgeable artist and incredible performer in his own right. The workflow between Manuel, Dave and myself was so fluid and was quintessential to the environment we were able to create in the music building. And of course I have to thank Pete Kalvert and Music Ascension, Matty Layman, and Joel and Lauren Rutkowski for believing in me, supporting me, and providing me with these fantastic camp opportunities.

Thank you all,
Jacob Souders

Listen to the album HERE

Password: IHC2023

--

--

Camp IHC
Camp IHC

A sleepaway camp where the stories told are more magical than you could ever imagine.