The Top 3 IHC Campfire Songs

Camp IHC
Camp IHC
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2021

By Matthew Kaufman

Happy Friday! I’m sure many of you know what that means… Friday Night Campfire! For many, campfire is a really special time of the week. As campfire is an all-camp activity, those who have siblings and friends in other divisions have a chance to sit together, catch up on all the fun things they’ve done, and enjoy the evening. Some campfire staples includes a group speech from the CITs, a poem from Shelley, and the camp alma mater (Blue lakes around us and blue skies above).

Another widely enjoyed campfire tradition includes the musical stylings of one of Camp IHC’s Director/Owner Emeritus. Every Friday night, he sings two songs; once in a while, he’ll even give you an encore! He’s been rocking the campfire on his autoharp since 1989! DAVE TAGER

Before we reveal some of his top hits, here are some honorable mentions:

  • “Rock My Soul”
  • “Born in Bethlehem”
  • “Hole in the Bottom of the Sea”
  • “Boa Constrictor”

Here are some lyrics from a few of his most requested songs!

1. Puff the Magic Dragon

“Oh, Puff the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee
Puff the magic dragon lived by the sea
And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee”

2. Funny Farm

“Old McDonald had a funny farm e i, e i, o
And on that farm lived Bugs Bunny, e i, e i, o
With a what’s up Doc here and a what’s up Doc there
Here what’s up Doc, there what’s up Doc, everywhere a what’s up Doc!
Old McDonald had a funny farm, e i, e i, o”

3. Leaving on a Jet Plane

“So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
’Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go”

--

--

Camp IHC
Camp IHC

A sleepaway camp where the stories told are more magical than you could ever imagine.