Meet the Summer Growth Team: Aarti Kheskani

Nell Jones
Campuswire
Published in
4 min readJul 8, 2019

The NYC encyclopedia of the Campuswire Growth Team!

“My favorite subject was probably science. I was kind of a nerd growing up, I just loved experiments. I blew something up in middle school chemistry, it was really fun.”

Aarti is twenty years old and from across the country in the Bay Area but she studies Economics down the street at New York University. We sat down with Aarti to chat all things life and Campuswire. Here‘s our conversation…

What do you think about New York City?

“I really like it, it’s definitely one of my favorite places in the world. I think it’s a super fun place to live, but I feel like everyone’s always in a hurry which can be really cool but really stressful at the same time.”

What do you do when you’re not working?

“I guess I hang out with my friends in the East Village where I live and try new stuff around there. We go to a lot of parks. That’s kind of it.”

How many cups of coffee do you drink a day?

“Usually 2, but I’ve gotten up to like 6 before.”

If you were an ice cream flavor, which would you be?

“Okay, so, I would be this flavor that they used to have at Coldstone Creamery called Black Forest, which is chocolate with cherry pie filling and brownies inside of it. It was my favorite thing as a kid, and it combines all my favorite desserts: ice cream, pie, and brownies.”

Sweeeet — if you were an animal, which animal would you be?

“An otter, because they hold hands when they sleep and I feel like that’s something I would do, because I feel like I would float away if I was an otter.”

Do you collect anything?

“Um, embarrassing stories?”

Speaking of which, what’s the most embarrassing thing that’s ever happened to you?

“When I was in high school, I got lost in Disneyland because I followed an ice cream cart for like 20 minutes and I lost all my friends. Oh, and two days ago I face-planted on 95th Street.”

What is your biggest pet peeve?

“People who repeat themselves.”

What was the first job you ever had?

“I worked at a popsicle store when I was seventeen. I dipped popsicles in chocolate. I spilled a lot of chocolate on myself, it was a good time.”

What are some of your day-to-day responsibilities at Campuswire?

“I do a lot of making demos, writing scripts, making growth plans, and pitching new content ideas.”

What is your favorite part of all of that?

“We pitched content on the first day and then actually started on the second day, which was really cool.”

What has been the most challenging part of the internship so far?

“Being on camera and not being awkward.”

What is something that surprised you about Campuswire?

“I think how willing people are to teach you. I feel like at a lot of startups people don’t want to deal with people that don’t have a lot of experience, but I feel like everyones really willing to explain stuff here, which I think is really cool.”

Now that you’re so familiar with Campuswire, can you think of a time at school when it would have been really helpful to have Campuswire?

“Campuswire would have been useful in any of the classes where I didn’t really know anyone in the class but I still needed help. It would have been really cool to be able to contact people in my class for help”

What are you most excited for this summer while working at Campuswire?

“I’m excited that we’re going to be able to see the growth that we make happen, and hopefully we’ll be able to see the impact that we make.”

Thanks, Aarti! Keep checking back to learn more about our Summer Growth Team…

--

--