Meet the Summer Growth Team: Alex Choi

Campuswire’s best photographer and globe enthusiast!

Brian Aubrey Smith
Campuswire
3 min readJul 26, 2019

--

Alex is a rising sophomore at the University of Chicago studying Business Economics. We sat down with the Chicago native to get his thoughts on summer in New York and his goals for his time at Campuswire…

So, Alex, tell us a bit about yourself. Where do you go to school, and what do you study?

“I go to the University of Chicago and I study Business Economics.”

How do you feel about that major?

“I feel cautiously optimistic… It’s been good so far!”

That’s great! If you were an ice cream flavor what would you be?

“Probably cookies and cream because I like cookies and cream.”

Why cookies and cream?

“Because you get to take two things and blend them together… One is cookies, one is ice cream and that’s sort of how my life has been blending two things, coming from immigrant parents but being raised in America and raised in New Jersey.”

And what do you think about living in New York City?

“I think it’s great because there is so much food, always, there’s never a time when you can’t get food. I live in the suburbs in Illinois, so past 10 PM you really can’t get anything to eat unless you drive 30 minutes to McDonalds. In New York you can be up at 4am you can still find a piece of pizza.”

If you could only watch one movie for the rest of your life what would it be?

“Inception. It gets better every time you watch it.”

What’s the longest you’ve gone without sleep and why?

“About a month and a half ago my friend really wanted to go to Paris and Milan for the week, and he convinced me to go with him. We actually bought plane tickets for a flight that was leaving about 3 hours after we bought them. Funny enough, we’d been up the whole night before studying together and we took our exam that morning so were like ‘let’s go!’ Eventually we got on the flight but neither of us could sleep. We were following the sun on the entire way over and ended up being awake for almost 50 hours straight. Then we got to Milan then crashed. Super fun!”

What is your favorite place in the entire world?

“Italy. I really like Tuscany.”

Very nice! Do you plan to study abroad there, or anywhere at all?

“Yes, I’m planning to study Economics in my third year at Bocconi in Milan.”

Do you collect anything?

“I don’t. I used to collect business cards because I thought it’d be fun, but then I realized it was completely useless and I would never call any of these people…”

What was your first ever job?

“I was a babysitter when I was 12 for my little brother. Actually, funny story: the first time I babysat, I accidentally set my home alarm to away instead of stay. Eventually, the motion detectors saw me move and set off all the alarms. I was so young that I didn’t realize that’s what it was, so I thought it was a fire alarm and I ran outside with my little brother. The fire department came, and I had to call me mom who was across the road, so she came back and had to explain to me how ‘it’s not a fire, it’s just the house alarm.’”

Was that the last time you ever babysat?

“No, I got better after that. We started at rock bottom!”

Why did you decide to join Campuswire?

“I really wanted to join a team that wasn’t that fully established, something that was more of a start up environment where I could really help shape where the company is going to go.”

What has been your favorite part of the job so far?

“I think it’s great that everyone on the leadership team is so accessible to the interns, and that we can stop by with any questions at any time. We get to work directly with the Growth Team, and it’s so great to see people who have been with this company for so long, who know it inside and out, and who can teach us everything they know.”

Thank you, Alex! More from our Summer Growth Team soon…

--

--