Jola’s Hair (2)

ìbùkúnolúwafimíhàn.
Camwood Carats
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2024

Nolina: You’re welcome Jola. Now to the hair grill. You’re renown particularly for whipping up unique hairstyles- and that with our natural Afro hair. I have to ask, is there any particular secret ingredient or muse that gets you in the creative zone?

Jola: But wouldn’t be a secret anymore if I shared it. (Chuckles) However, because you asked I will do my best to share what I can.

Nolina: (Laughs) See, I hope everyone is hearing. She’s telling us because I asked. .

Jola: (Laughs) I’d say, first of all, that I am inspired by indigenous hairstyles- the retro styles such as all back, shuku, Patewo and so on. When I first started out, I relished making these styles. I mean, I did branch out as I learned more styles, but I found out that whenever a customer requested that I make one of these old school styles for them, it turned out elegant. Sometimes they’d come back regaling me with stories about how they got compliments for their hair and how their friends were surprised at how neat and beautiful the style turned out to be- more so with just their hair. I got a couple of these compliments and started to think, this could really be my thing, you know. So, yeah. I continue to be inspired by what was handed down to us. You asked if I had any muses- I have an odd one for you. I listen to radio static during my brainstorming sessions.

Nolina: Radio static? You are referring to the scratchy sound a radio makes when it’s being tuned?

Jola: Yes, the very one. I know, I know, it’s weird, but it works. It just does. (Laughs)

Nolina: Indeed, and it is one of a kind. (Laughs). Fascinating. Now, let me put a twist to things by asking what one might term an intense question. How do you view competition?

Jola: Hmmm. Now that’s a very interesting question. First, I’ll say that I’ll be lying if I said to you that I didn’t care about competitor brands and establishments. I do. It’s only human to, after all. But you know, now that I’m older, I’m learning to see competition as a tug to not rest on my oars. On the flip side, I highly value being a person that has a heart of goodwill towards others so I draw the line at fighting dirty or resorting to slander or malicious approaches. I have seen people fight dirty and truthfully, those fights never end well. People say, “oh, but you need competition to push your limits”. I agree as well, but it’s still very tricky. What I try to do is to stay focused on our vision and keep the drive steady. Soon enough, the spotlight will come.

--

--