Jola’s Hair (3)

ìbùkúnolúwafimíhàn.
Camwood Carats
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2024

Nolina: You know, you led me right to my next question, about what your vision is. What is the vision for Jola’s Hair?

Jola: Oh it’s simple. It’s to let the hair speak for itself. We are a niche business that’s focused on young girls and teenagers because we want to create wonderful experiences for these girls to have from a young age and reminisce about into adulthood. I have 2 daughters and it’s a joy to see them relish their hair making experience.

Nolina: That’s beautiful. As we wrap up, I’d like you to share with us your thoughts on the future, both for Jola’s Hair and the hairstyling industry at large, if you don’t mind.

Jola: Wow. That’s a powerful question. Nolina, it’s like you came prepared for me o. (Laughs) Look at you just dropping all these gems.

Nolina: (Laughs) What can I say? I love my job.

Jola: No doubts about that! Now, to answer your question, we’re looking to invest into youth empowerment. We recently wrapped up a training program for young adults in the city of Ibadan and the turnout was massive. It’s wonderful to see how rich in talent our nation is; at Jola’s Hair, we are keen to mine those talents. We are also working on the development of a skill core hub, a platform which will enhance the curation and transmission of knowledge and skills about Afro-textured hair and care recommendations for various demographics. As for my thoughts on the evolution of the industry, I would say as well that I look forward to more collaborations and co-pioneered initiatives. We can do so much more if we work together.

Nolina: That’s beautiful. I wish you all the best Jola. You already do such an outstanding job. I’m sure there’ll be more wins to celebrate in the nearest future, and on that note, I can close by telling you that I look forward to another sit-in interview together. You know me now; I’ll come with all my gems- as you dubbed my questions. (Smiles)

Jola: (Smiles) Thank you so much for your kind wishes. It has been an honour and a pleasure indeed to be here. Yes o- Nolina with the gems. I look forward as well. Thank you so much once again for having me.

--

--