ìbùkúnolúwafimíhàn.
Camwood Carats
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2024

--

We have with us today Omolabake Nicholas of “Playground”. Playground is an exclusive children events company renown for planning adventure-themed birthdays and children-safe events. Inspired by a desire to make these events an avenue for both fun and learning, the activities are equally designed to promote literacy and learning for the children. ‘Labake (as she fondly called), the company founder, shares with us her passion and lessons in today’s interview.

Nolina: (Excitedly) ‘Labake herself! We’re so glad to have you.

Labake: (Laughing) Nolina, I didn’t know you could whyne people like this o. Please, I’m the one who’s privileged to be here. Thank you so much for the opportunity.

Nolina: The pleasure is ours. You know, I told myself that when I got the opportunity to meet you, I would ask how you found yourself in this world of planning children parties. You know, most people who work in the event planning space plan weddings, birthdays or even corporate events.

Labake: (Nods) Yes, that’s true. You’re right.

Nolina: How then did you decide that you wanted to niche down and just focus on bespoke events for just children?

Labake: Hmmm. You know, whenever I look back, I think to myself that it all started from my own childhood experiences. I was quite the spunky child, all over the place.

Nolina: (Laughs) Why am I not surprised?

Labake: (Laughs) Ouch Nolina. Haha. But yes, I was the spunky and sneaky child in the family. The one who loved going for birthdays and won all the prizes when we had those “dance round the chair” competitions. It so happened that as I grew older, I found myself wanting to recreate those memories for many of the children around me, beginning with my cousins. And the rest, as they say, is history.

Nolina: That’s so sweet. Care to share any fond memory from one of your many parties?

Labake: When you say it like that, you make it sound like I was a party hopper. Well, in a sense, I was- I won’t lie. So, I remember this particular instance, it was our birthday, (myself and Omololu, my twin brother). We had had a great day but you know me now, I was still feeling adventurous after the party. Egging for more. The birthday was in December and we usually had this competition with other kids in our neighborhood about who would be the first to light their bangers. I guess I was high with the adrenaline from all my jumping up and down. You won’t believe what I did. I snuck into our mom’s room and stole the bangers, tricked my Aunty into leaving the kitchen so I could steal the matches, and then I went to the backyard of the house to light the bangers. Imagine everyone’s shock when they heard the shocking rattles- and you know how bangers can be frightening if you’re not expecting them. There I was, pleased to have beat the other neighborhood kids to it. You bet my mother was not pleased. And that’s just putting it mildly.

Nolina: (Laughs) What on earth- how did you- oh my goodness. That’s just high level scheming.

Labake: (Laughs) Trust me, I know. And you bet I was very well disciplined by my able mother for it. But I have to say, that craftiness morphed into the adventurous spirit I have now, and it’s what makes me keen to creatively design fun party themes, especially for the very inspiring children I’m privileged to work with.

--

--