Praise

ìbùkúnolúwafimíhàn.
Camwood Carats
Published in
1 min readJul 30, 2022

Praise calls unto the thudding drums,

and the voices- a medley of the sonorous, thunderous, warm, sweet, shrill and rusty.

It calls unto scintillating sounds,

born of the struck, hit, blown and jammed instruments.

It calls unto the eccentric and rhythmic moves,

the euphoria of happy and cheered hearts.

It calls unto the quaint steps, nods, claps,

the feet stomping, raised hands- diverse mannerisms-stuck in melody.

It calls unto the presence of the Lord, filling hearts with joy.

It calls unto every tribe and tongue, to exult in His eternity and power.

Author’s Note

I found this poem in one of my folders. It was dated “16 November, 2013”. I recall that I was at home then- my Uni was on an indefinite strike. I thought to share because reading it gladdened my heart- it was like finding a gem. Reading it also made me feel truly grateful for the gift of creative expression during a difficult time of life (which that time was), and growth since then.

--

--