Shèlérí

ìbùkúnolúwafimíhàn.
Camwood Carats
Published in
1 min readJan 16, 2022

I have now memorized Shèlérí’s playlist. K1 the Ultimate’s Ade Ori Okin blares from her Bluetooth speaker all through the weekend. She calls it her “hype song”. Her replacement for Live Band music she would normally dance to if she was invited for a Wedding Reception that weekend.

***

Shèlérí and I have been flatmates for two years now. My job requires that I travel a lot, so we barely have time for girls’ chitchat. When I get back from my trips, I just want to sleep and eat. Or eat and sleep. Whichever I can do first.

***

I feel like I know Shèlérí better than I know myself. I can tell her mood by listening to her songs. After a stressful day, she plays P!nk’s Cover Me in Sunshine. When she is readying for church on Sunday morning, she plays Chioma Jesus’ Bulldozer. She only plays I Choose You by Ryan Leslie when she feels wistful.

***

Today, she is playing Emeli Sandé’s Honest. I recognize it because it is new. It was not in the playlist before. And she plays it all through Friday evening to Sunday morning. She rushes out on Sunday morning without even playing her usual, Bulldozer. I make up my mind that I will ask her what the matter is by Sunday evening.

***

It is now 8pm on Sunday. Shèlérí is still not yet back.

--

--