Cherie
Can I Just Get My Damn Story Read!
2 min readSep 11, 2018

--

There are very few things that happen in a lifetime that we know exactly where we were when they happened. I know where my children were and my husband who was a commercial airline pilot when the tragic events on that beautiful September morning unfolded.

I know my heart felt like it was going to explode in my chest as I watched that second jet hit the twin tower. My husband was nearby on jury duty and our baby boy was at a friend’s house. Our little girl was in kindergarten miles from me. I wanted to fall to my knees and vomit for all the carnage and death. We gathered up our family and I held my children close for all the people I knew would never be able to do that on the evening of September 11, 2001.

It affected me because my husband could have been one of those pilots or we could have been on one of those planes. But what hurt the most is that it was an attack to the United States of America. It was meant to inflict pain and kill Americans and it did.

But I promised myself from that day forward I would never forget the sacrifice of all who lost their lives that day. I know all who died that day were not Americans but caught in the crosshairs. I have read and watched countless stories of that day in New York, Washington, and the field in Pennsylvania.

I have thought about the people who chose to jump rather than burn to death or as we now know crumble to the ground inside the towers. I have read the stories of the first responders going up when everyone was going down.

Just like other horrific and life altering dates in history this one thing I know is true…

I will never forget — Rest in Peace

--

--