Introducing The CSBN Ambassador Team

Canada, we’re coming for you.

CSBN 🍁
Tales from The North
8 min readOct 11, 2016

--

In July 2015, our team at the Canadian Sport Business Network was just two students with one simple vision: to cultivate the next generation of sport business professionals in Canada. Today, we begin an exciting journey where we share that vision with our very own CSBN Ambassador Team.

MATT TIKKANEN

WESTERN CANADA

Area of Study (Program + School)

Arts @ Capilano University.

Extracurricular Involvement (On and off-campus)

Hockey, skiing, soccer, marketing, traveling and reading.

Favorite Sport

Hockey.

Dream Career

Working for the IIHF. In the entire world of sports, I think that hockey is the best. I truly love hockey. I have been fortunate to learn life lessons, forge friendships and learn about myself through the game. I believe that promoting it and increasing exposure to people around the world would be invaluable.

№1 Tip for Aspiring Sports Marketing Pro’s

Take action. I think that the sport industry can be intimidating. With fierce competition for few job opportunities, this just compounds the effect. The perfect time to work in the industry will never be perfect. Yes, the job conditions are scary and yes, there is an unbelievable amount of uncertainty around the this industry. By taking action, you can use this to your advantage.

Bio (background story; thoughts/opinions on the state of the Canadian sports business industry)

I am a student at Capilano University. I also attended Sport Management at Brock during the 2013–2014 academic year. I am fascinated by the sport industry and have a great passion for it. Personally, my favorite sport is hockey. Having said that, there are so many sports that are supported as a result of the amount of diversity in the Canadian society.

I think that the place of hockey in Canada being the top sport is dwindling. I believe that moving forward, soccer and basketball will be the sport for sport marketers to attract dollars and viewership. The demographics of Canada is changing and sport marketing should change with it. As a result, companies should sponsor youth basketball around the country as well as soccer. For both of these sports to have a bigger presence, both men’s national teams need to have more positive results.

ADRIAN HAWKINGS

NORTHERN CANADA

Area of Study (Program + School)

Business Administration, Ivey Business School @ Western University.

Extracurricular Involvement (On and off-campus)

VP of Sports Events, Ivey Sports and Entertainment Business Club; Executive Orientation Leader, Ivey Orientation Week; Participant, Intramural Sports (Hockey, Ultimate Frisbee).

Favorite Sport

Hockey.

Dream Career

CEO of major sports team/organization.

№1 Tip for Aspiring Sports Marketing Pro’s

Try to make a good impression on everyone you meet, you never know who is going to help you land your next big career opportunity.

Bio (background story; thoughts/opinions on the state of the Canadian sports business industry)

I am a currently a student in my last year of Business Administration at Ivey Business School, Western University. Prior to coming to Ivey, I spent three years in the Recreation and Sports Business Co-op Program at the University of Waterloo.

While in that program, I completed a work term for the Yukon Government, Sports and Recreation Branch where I helped organize the Yukon contingent for the 2015 Western Canada Summer Games in Fort McMurray, Alberta. In addition to organizing the operations for the team, I had the opportunity to attend the two-week long games as part of the Team Yukon Mission Staff. This job really opened my eyes to the tremendous opportunities that exist in both major games and government sports administration.

I believe that many of today’s grads who are interested in the sports industry spend most of their time focusing on professional sports and largely ignore the opportunities that exist in major games, sports governing bodies, non-profits, and government sports branches. I hope to find a career in one of these areas where I am able to help grow sporting participation in Canada and foster physical and mental well-being for Canadians.

WALA AMARA

QUEBEC

Area of Study (Program + School)

Journalism @ Concordia University

Extracurricular Involvement (On and off-campus)

VP External, McGill Student Basketball Association (Jr NBA Program); Writer, lockernews.com (sports blog).

Favorite Sport

Basketball.

Dream Career

Sports host/analyst.

№1 Tip for Aspiring Sports Marketing Pro’s

Create your opportunities — do not wait on them.

Bio (background story; thoughts/opinions on the state of the Canadian sports business industry)

I see sports as a way of life; they benefit me both mentally and physically. I want to work in the sports industry because I want to help our Canadian sports culture get to the next level. I believe we lack some of the tools that can help us develop our culture here at home. We are on the right path with all the major improvements that we notice at the college and the professional level, but compared to other nations, we still have work to do and we will get there. I would also like to add that I aspire to use sports as an opportunity to give a voice to women and visible minorities.

KRISTIAN D’AMORE

ATLANTIC CANADA

Area of Study (Program + School)

Bachelor of Recreation & Sport Studies — Management stream @ University of New Brunswick

Extracurricular Involvement (On and off-campus)

UNB Varsity Reds Men’s Soccer; UNB Kinesiology Society; UNB Varsity Reds Athlete’s Council; Logistics Lead, Mississauga ITALFEST (25,000+ attendees)

PAST: Organizing Committee, 2016 CIS Women’s Basketball Championship

Favorite Sport

Soccer!!!

Dream Career

To travel the world as an event manager at Olympics, Pan Ams, FIFA World Cups, etc.

№1 Tip for Aspiring Sports Marketing Pro’s

My number one tip for aspiring professionals is to take initiative and be a “doer.” In such competitive fields like the world of sport business, industry experience is key. Take the initiative to attend a conference, volunteer at events, network with industry professionals, or even start something new on campus. Think about this: everyone else in your university program graduates as your competitor. You have to be a doer! Doers make a name for themselves…Doers separate themselves from their competitors.

Bio (background story; thoughts/opinions on the state of the Canadian sports business industry)

I am honoured to join the CSBN team as Ambassador representing Atlantic Canada. Originally from Mississauga, Ontario, I am an aspiring sport event manager studying Rec & Sport Management at the University of New Brunswick. I have always had a strong passion for sport — specifically soccer. I have been an avid, die-hard supporter of Toronto FC since its inception; and as I’ve gotten older, I’ve really become to understand the state of soccer in the entire country. Therefore, I revolve a lot of my free time looking at how we, as sport managers, can grow the landscape and success of Canadian soccer. Lately, the potential of a new national league, #CanPL (or the Canadian Premier League) has been the focus of my research.

I’ve been blessed to have success athletically and am proud to represent UNB on the pitch as a varsity athlete on the men’s soccer team. I think my passion for wanting to work in sport stems from the experiences of my athletic career. I believe that Canadians struggle to find parallel opportunities in sport compared to those of our American neighbours — especially in soccer. I really want to work in sport so I can help grow the landscape of sport in Canada, grow our reputation as capable elite sport managers, and to advocate for more fair opportunities for our athletes, nation-wide! Part of my decision to study on the East Coast was because the state of the industry in the region. When I came to UNB, I felt that I could make a difference in sport in Atlantic Canada. Whether it be at the grassroots level, PSOs, or in professional sport, the Maritimes seems to be a step behind with regards to employing effective sport managers. This region really deserves passionate sport managers who will commit to growing the state of sport in the Maritimes because there truly are great athletes and passionate fans waiting for something great..(#CanPL??).

I wish you all the most success and hope to work with many of you in the future! Please feel free to connect with me at any time, I’d love to chat about your opinions of sport, and sport business in Canada!

HUGO BOUTIN

INTERNATIONAL / FRANCE

Area of Study (Program + School)

Master in International Strategy & Influence @ Skema Business School.

Extracurricular Involvement (On and off-campus)

In addition to being the CSBN International Ambassador, I am also an Associate Coach for the Salt Lake Screaming Eagles (first-ever fan-run professional team). I try to attend numerous sports-business related events in Paris to keep myself engaged and up-to-date.

Favorite Sport

Basketball, because I used to play a lot. It is a tough call as I also love all other North American sports, soccer, cycling and running.

Dream Career

Manage international development and marketing for an event such as Le Tour de France or a sports team such as PSG.

№1 Tip for Aspiring Sports Marketing Pro’s

Get as much extracurricular experience as possible by doing internships, volunteering and getting involved in sport business associations. Don’t be too narrow focused on a sport or position or a city when you start! An entry-level internship can open a lot of doors for you!

Bio (background story; thoughts/opinions on the state of the Canadian sports business industry)

I am a French graduate student in International Strategy & Influence in Skema Business School, currently living in Paris. I am passionate about sport business. It is a fascinating industry especially because of the emotional attachment of its customers/fans, and because it is at a crossroad with the major developments in digital. After an internship in Minor League Baseball with the Erie Seawolves (AA affiliate of the Detroit Tigers), I interned at Nike France HQ as a Business Analyst and Customer Operations Representative for 6 months. I also interned at Infront Sports & Media in Paris in Development (mostly focused on the Handball World Championship taking place in France in 2017, B2RUN Company running series, consulting and tenders).

--

--

CSBN 🍁
Tales from The North

Cultivating the next wave of sports business professionals in Canada.