Why did the interviewer not shake my hand?

#IAMCandidateX
CandidateX
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2020

Guest written and contributed by Louise Blaize

Louise is a Diversity & Inclusion BAME network events Co-Chair, inclusion supporter and CandidateX community member.

My name shows no indication of race.
voice shows no indication of race.
The way I write shows no indication of race.

I applied for a job role in a handbag design company and had two telephone interviews.

In the first we discussed my educational and career background in design and my portfolio. The second was more conventional interview questions.

At the end, the interviewer was very impressed and asked me to come to the office where they would show me around, introduce me to the team and see if I like the atmosphere in the office. I asked if I needed to bring anything and was told “no just yourself”. So that is what I did.

On the day of the interview, I sat in the waiting room whilst the interviewer came from the office.

As soon as they saw me the body language changed, the mood in the reception area changed.

The interviewer didn’t shake my hand or even look at me in the eye but sat down and started to ask me the same questions they did on the phone but with no expression, not looking at me when I answered, interrupting me to hurry the conversation. They then proceeded to stand up and say they will get back to me to confirm if I got the job.
Then left again no hand shake, no goodbye, thank you, nothing.

I was thinking what did I do wrong?

I had never had an interview like that before, kicking myself I thought how could I have answered the questions better?
Did I not smile?
Was I not warm and inviting?
How could I have made the interview go better? I left and walked back to the station.
Less than 5 minutes later I got an email saying….
After careful consideration you have not been successful for the role.
After that it dawned on me…….

It’s because I’m black.

--

--

#IAMCandidateX
CandidateX

We are dads, husbands and Co-Founders of CandidateX, a community led movement for equality, diversity and inclusion. Join the #IAMCandidateX movement.