Relationships and Food

A Bad Breakup Made Me Gain Weight

3 questions I had to ask myself to lose it

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Candour
Published in
5 min readFeb 27, 2021

--

Photo by The Lazy Artist Gallery from Pexels

If I’m honest I can’t blame my weight gain entirely on food. It was kind of a joint venture. Cabernet meets chips. Pinot Grigio meets peanut butter cups and Rose…I like to say Rose never met a stranger.

I used to be a party girl.

Before a bad breakup forced me into social hibernation.

The party girl didn’t date junk food on her nights out. She ate a yummy meal, talked too much to finish it, drank wine, and danced some of it off.

But the bad breakup up girl…

The one who no longer felt like partying. She thought a glass of wine at home seemed like a really good idea. By the second glass of wine, Cheetos sounded like an even better idea.

Healthy food looks so good in pics, doesn’t it?

Like the pretty Instagram images. But it takes a lot of effort. All that cutting up of vegetables and all. The kinda energy reserved for a party girl who likes to throw actual parties. Formerly known as me.

Popping open a bag of Tostitos is much less work. Easy peasy. Shove a chip in and force the emotion down further. Is it the best way to cope? Of course not. But a…

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Candour

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com