Can We Be Body Responsible Instead of Body Positive?

Too much positivity can be toxic; instead, we need to talk more about being responsible for our bodies as an act of self-love.

Nicole Bedford
Candour

--

I struggle endlessly with body positivity. Don’t get me wrong I love who I am, and more importantly, I have a healthy sense of self. However, I’m human, and in reality, most days, I struggle with positive feelings about my body.

I’ve gained a lot of weight in the last year thanks to birth control, emotional eating, and blatant disregard for my physical shell. As such, I’ve had a hard time staying positive. I’ve been hard on myself for letting it all fall apart.

Last week I had to go to Urgent Care because of an injury to my cervical spine and upper back. It was a wake-up call. One I needed to allow me to decide to get my body in better shape.

In recent years the Body Positivity movement has had a full run of marketing campaigns geared towards promoting ‘loving the skin you’re in’ regardless of how far the skin stretches. Which I’m here for.

We’ve seen significant advertising campaigns by big names, like, Dove, Aerie, Savage Fenty, Sports Illustrated along with a host of others, including body types of all shapes, sizes, and hues.

--

--

Nicole Bedford
Candour

Deputy Editor: An Injustice Mag. Words in Insider, Elephant Journal, Blavity, etc. Contact: nicole@aninjusticemag.com