Has My Sexuality Contributed to a Major Depression Diagnosis?

On the higher prevalence of mental health disorders among bisexuals compared to heterosexuals and other LGBTQ members.

Nicole Bedford
Flourish Mag

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

If I’m honest, I’d tell you that I first knew I was attracted to girls from the first grade. My body was explored by one of my best friends underneath a tree nestled on the Eastern side of the school. We were shielded from view, by the fronds of the short, lush palm tree and touched each other at leisure.

I’m not sure if I was aroused in the physiological sense but I was mentally and emotionally. I liked feeling the soft touch of her hand and I liked touching her too. We didn’t know much about kissing but we gave each other feather-light butterfly kisses.

As I got older, the more I experimented with girls my age or slightly older. Once, at a summer dance camp, I let a girl feel me up in the dressing room while another girl watched, and then we all kissed each other. At a sleepover, around 10, while taking a bath with my friend, I let her go down on me, how she knew what to do was beyond me since we were the same age, but I enjoyed the way she suckled me down there.

At 17, I had my first real sexual experience with an out bisexual girl that was a friend of mine. We were…

--

--

Nicole Bedford
Flourish Mag

Deputy Editor: An Injustice Mag. Words in Insider, Elephant Journal, Blavity, etc. Contact: nicole@aninjusticemag.com