How to Not Suck as a Friend — Communicate Better

5 Ways You’re Communicating Like A Bad Friend

Nicole Bedford
Candour

--

Stop using communication blocks to relate to your friends it’s killing your relationships. We’ve all been in a position where we’ve had a close friend come to us while in a crisis and seeking a shoulder to lean on, seethe to, or just get a fresh perspective on a situation.

Inadvertently, we can sometimes be insensitive to the plight of a friend and use limiting language to poorly articulate any empathy or compassion. I’ve done it, countless times without realizing it, I’ve been a really bad friend because of poor communication. This can trickle into other types of relationships we have, where we employ poor communication techniques that lead to misunderstandings and arguments.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve felt minimized or diminished by a friend I’ve turned to, to vent my frustration or emotional upheaval. One such time was last year during Spring.

I’d just discovered that I had severe anemia and was experiencing some very adverse symptoms as a result. I was living in France at the time, and naturally, the only person I wanted to talk to was my mother. I called her, after explaining my plight her response was that I was sick because I refuse to have God in my life.

--

--

Nicole Bedford
Candour

Deputy Editor: An Injustice Mag. Words in Insider, Elephant Journal, Blavity, etc. Contact: nicole@aninjusticemag.com