The Microtrauma of the Unsolicited Touch

When strange men touch me in conversation, even if benign, it triggers PTSD.

Nicole Bedford
Candour

--

Photo by Darrell Fraser from Pexels

In conversation, it is not necessary to invade someone’s personal space and touch them. It’s worse after they’ve expressed their discomfort, to repeat the offense is just rude, dismissive and an act of entitlement. Speak to me with your mouth and eyes, not your hands, Sir.

On the last day of 2019, I flew back home to the Bahamas after a year-long stint in Miami. I’d spent much of December depressed and anxious, partially because of seasonal affective disorder and partially because of the trepidation of returning home. Naturally, after spending much of 2019 writing about past traumas I wasn’t keen on returning to the place where I was hurt and abused.

Like many women, I’ve experienced too many brushes with sexual assault stemming from childhood into adulthood. As a result, I have PTSD, thus at times can be skittish around men who aren’t shy about their sexual interest in me. New Years Day I found myself being triggered repeatedly by touchy-feely men.

My PTSD Triggers

For the most part, I don’t like being physically touched. Unless I give an unequivocal invitation into my personal space I prefer people to keep a healthy distance outside of…

--

--

Nicole Bedford
Candour

Deputy Editor: An Injustice Mag. Words in Insider, Elephant Journal, Blavity, etc. Contact: nicole@aninjusticemag.com