Why Do Women Talk on the Phone in Public Washrooms?

A pet peeve and how I handle it in a not-very-mature way.

Sydel Brown
Candour

--

Photo of a neon sign of an arrow with the word Wash Room inside it.
Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

I generally don't care what people do in public washrooms.

I've seen all manner of strange things both inside and outside public washrooms.

From nail clipping to washing themselves while standing in their underwear at the sink.

I’ve seen full-on makeout sessions and heard what I can only assume was drunken, sloppy sex happening in the stall beside me.

I’ve refreshed my makeup beside drag queens who put my attempts at womanhood to shame (not really, they were gorgeous!).

It's happened enough that I barely even register it anymore.

The public washroom has been a place of gossip and heartache, solace and reprieve. Plus, it’s a place to do your private business, away from whatever is going on outside the loo.

I've consoled more people than I can count in public bathrooms. Seems to be the place that people break down.

And I don’t mind when women do any of these things. They are away from the public, which is where they feel most comfortable.

--

--

Sydel Brown
Candour
Writer for

Writing about writing, sex, love, dating, relationships, and life with a twist of humor. Sometimes I bite. Can be NSFW. Buy me a coffee? Ko-fi.com/sydelbrown