Why I Used to Ditch the Good Guys for the Not-So-Good Ones

Lessons from an abuse survivor

Suzanna Quintana
Candour
Published in
11 min readAug 5, 2020

--

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Confession #1: I do not regret the choices in men I made in the past due to the outcome of having three beautiful sons today.

Confession #2: If I did not have three beautiful sons today, I would totally regret the choices in men I made in the past.

There is a good amount of great guys out there. I know this because in the past I dumped them in favor of men who treated me like shit right from the get-go.

Today, after having escaped two abusive marriages, the last of which nearly ended my attempt at sanity and from which I’m still recovering from financially speaking, I am able to openly and honestly reflect on all of my past relationships with men.

This reflection was important for my healing journey and helping me find emotional freedom because without understanding why I chose men who were abusive over men who were not, I risked falling into a similar relationship in the future. Thus, I needed to name the problem so that I could fix the problem.

And the problem was that I chose to fall in love with, marry, and have children with men who viewed women as objects to destroy, dismiss, and to make disappear right in front of their eyes.

--

--

Suzanna Quintana
Candour
Writer for

My voice is my superpower. Editor-in-Chief of The Virago. Founder of The Online Sanctuary for Healing After Narcissistic Abuse. www.suzannaquintana.com