Day 2. Pre-course. The Command Line.

Stephen Dawes
canitbedone
Published in
1 min readMay 18, 2016

Ok, so this is effectively day 2 of the pre course, so I am working through the GITHUB pre-course syllabus, which starts with a number of materials detailing the Makers Academy philosophy, code of conduct, learning objectives etc. It is good to see they take such things as provision of feedback, transparency, honesty, student welfare etc seriously.

I am fortunate that I am able to study whilst at work (I am assuming that my boss knows what I am up to!). As access to the command line is banned on our systems and we are not allowed personal laptops in the office, I sourced a web app called ‘Cloud 9’ that is effectively a development environment in ‘the cloud’ that works through the browser. I am able to simulate the terminal on my work computer, which is proving useful to study the command line in the absence of my mac, and without risk of deleting or corrupting my computer!

So far so good with the command line — I should be able to start GIT course soonest and am on track to start the challenge on Thursday!

--

--

Stephen Dawes
canitbedone

16 years working in aviation. Leaving to change direction. In my late 30s with no previous knowledge of programming or web development. Can this really be done?