Cannabis and Aspergillus: Exploring Medical Case Studies

Jamie Toth, The Somewhat Cyclops
Cannabis Explorations
45 min readSep 16, 2023

--

I’m going to start this by stating that I am not a doctor, and the reason that I have linked all of the studies that I’m using is so that people can find and read these articles for themselves — ultimately I am writing this series of articles as an informative resource for anyone wanting to understand more about the intersection of Aspergillus and cannabis. I will try my best to de-jargonify the findings of the scientific resources linked.

This is the second in a series of articles I’m writing about the intersection of Aspergillus and cannabis. The articles are:

  • A Brief History of Aspergillus.
  • Cannabis and Aspergillus: Exploring the Medical Literature (This Article).
  • How is Cannabis tested for Aspergillus, and how are those tests regulated by the individual states?
  • What’s a Farm to Do? Information on Methods of Prevention and Remediation of Aspergillus
  • Case Study: An Organic Oregon Farm Engaging in Aspergillus Prevention

I will update the above links as the articles become available.

One of the reasons I wanted to create this article is that I wanted to make a space to honor these patients and their experiences. I also feel it’s important to fully explore these experiences to understand the medical risks that happen with aspergillus, specifically as it applies to cannabis.

--

--