Cannabis Journalism: 1

Jess Blackwell
Cannabis Journalism
3 min readDec 1, 2015
Just Say No! by Tim Chirillo

Early Influences

Marijuana and I have declared a close relationship to one another over the years. As a freshman in college in 2012, curious to partake in the exciting celebration of legalization, I dropped the ‘just say no’ act at the door as my friends and I headed out to the alley. As it soon marks four years since losing my cannabis virginity, I no longer speak in hush tones about the subject and embrace cannabis in both recreational, as well as, medicinal forms. Growing up in a holistic and sustainable based household has molded an amazing foundation for my openness to the idea of cannabis. I practice a strong human-nature relationship and cannabis is one of the many ways I can explore and deepen that association.

High Times by Sativa Von Teese

Let’s get WEEDucated

I aim to educate the family and friends around me by becoming an activist and representative for the issue. I am finding that many, even in Colorado, are very misunderstood about many beneficial elements cannabis can offer. Although weed flows heaps more than wine around me I still see that individuals are uneducated about the strength of marijuana as well as the biological processes associated to different strains. I am setting out to explore the many health benefits offered from cannabis culture, as well as, to investigate the biological elements that occur when different cannabinoids are introduced to the brain.

Cookies, Brownies and Sour Patch Kids OH MY!

My studies as a Geography major at the University of Denver have led me to the fascination of the agricultural world. We all know the common term ‘you are what you eat’, so could ‘munchies’ play a partial role in an increasing BMI index for Americans? Some anti-pot arguments believe that legalization could induce these possible changes, but causation in no way translates to correlation. I hope to investigate different health indexes to build upon previous research that indicate marijuana users are healthier than those who are non-users. I hope to investigate these health issues through different forms such as scholarly articles as well as documentaries to build upon my educational foundation of cannabis in order to lead activism in my own everyday life.

Get Rollin’

So let’s get rollin’, check out Buzz Feed’s quiz to find out which strain of weed you are! Mmmmmm Girl Scout Cookies…my favorite!

High Times by Sativa Von Teese

--

--