Cannabis Journalism el Tercer Dia

Vanessa Macias
Cannabis Journalism
2 min readMar 28, 2019

Coming to the middle of the week, the middle of this class, we have already been granted so much information about cannabis. The industry and its current position in our society is everchanging and more and more is learned each day. Today our professor gave us the opportunity to chat with Thomas Mitchell, the cannabis editor at WestWord.com. He was a great help in trying to gain more resources for our final projects and helped us understand what he does in his career.

There are many ways to make it in the cannabis business and many who work in it did not even think they would be in it. Julie Berliner, the CEO of Sweetgrass Kitchen. This company offers its edibles and other products, like their cannabutter, to over 500 dispensaries in Colorado. Julie spoke to us of how this vision started in a race truck trailer and it literally blew my mind how large her company has become. Sadly I was not able to see it all but I was able to see inside Julie’s head and see what it is to be a successful woman in this male-dominant industry.

At the end of the day I did receive a little help with building onto my final project. Scott gave me an idea to bring in the stereotyping of marijuana users and to focus on athletes. When I was looking online I found a website created by MedMen called Forgetstoner.com which focuses on dropping the label of the “stoner” and giving marijuana smokers a real face and story. People who smoke marijuana are not lazy, they are as involved or even more involved in this world like us. The forget stoner campaign brings light to the different types of people who consume cannabis whether it be medically or recreationally. Fighting the stigma and bringing light to the topic will continue to occur as more and more people share their stories and I hope I am here to hear them.

--

--