Japan’s roads to self-discovery

Lovdeep Singh
Cansbridge Fellowship
4 min readOct 29, 2018

Even after months of leaving Asia and returning to school and my everyday life, it is still difficult to fathom I had the opportunity to spend my summer abroad. Its own giant bubble, I have only begun to come to terms with the fact that Tokyo was my home for the last 3 months and now I reflect on the lessons learned, the vast difference the other side of the world offers, and the things I truly miss.

Remnants of Japan inside me offer much to miss

Whether it’s the plethora of fresh sushi or ramen shops, convenience stores that are truly convenient, or being able to get from one side of the city to the other incredibly efficiently, I often wake up to the sad realization that these amenities are no longer part of my reality. What I really missed, though, were the everyday experiences Japan created that sparked my interests. Tokyo gave me a deep appreciation of the designs, stories, and the origins behind fashion and streetwear. I find myself experimenting with new things and appreciating art in a different light. I also immensely miss Japanese culture and its illustrations through food, art, and architecture. Additionally, only after travelling around Asia and visiting other cities I gained a true appreciation of Japan’s cleanliness and high standard of living. It was difficult for me to understand that a mutual sense of respect and hand soap were not basic elements of life. Noticing subtle references to the idiosyncrasies of Japan through listening to Frank Ocean “hide his tattoos in Shibuya” on Chanel, or scrolling past Virgil Abloh making a vist to GR8, a Japanese streetwear brand, on my Instagram feed, I am convinced that Japan has engrained an emotional connection with me.

Hakone Military Checkpoint: a beautiful Japanese illustration

A Canadian manga story

From a worldwide perspective, Japan has implemented many key strategies that give Japan an edge moving forward. For one, I felt a much wider acceptance for technology — having robots take your order or using an electronic toilet were frequent occurrences. Canada, on the other hand, I find is slow in adopting innovation both socially and structurally. In addition, while I thought Canada was clean and efficient, Japan completely changed my mind. Here, waiting half an hour in the freezing cold for a late bus is normal, but in Japan, an apology would be made if trains arrived a minute late. Canada should adopt the Japanese onsens, relaxing hot springs that every student like me who is currently in the midst of exams at school. In addition, while travelling, I found capsule hotels to be a comfortable budget option. While Canada may not implement these methodologies anytime soon, some aspects should remain the same. When I was in Japan, I deeply missed the diversity and the lack of bureaucracy Canada offers, as I found Japan to be notorious for paperwork and drawn-out processes.

9h Capsule Hotel in Kyoto

Reflections from GMT+9

The most memorable instilled in me was a deeper and more creative understanding of the world. There is a word that describes deep reverence in Chinese philosophical texts, yūgen, which is the core of beauty and art in Japan. Yūgen evokes a state of awareness in people and I believe through this deep care of Japanese people’s surroundings, they have a calmer and caring outlook on the world. I also developed a sense of fearlessness, being able to live and create in a completely new world empowers me to continue celebrating challenges. Lastly, being abroad helped me further define myself. Being stripped down from all preconceptions and prior history to then step into a different life, I looked at both the world and myself differently.

teamLab Borderless: first digital arts exhibition

This summer was one of challenges, memories, and new perspectives. Having the opportunity to work in Japan was truly an opportunity of a lifetime. Each Cansbridge experience is unique but will always lead down a road of self-discovery or -reinforcement. For me, these were the roads less traveled; usually non-linear & rocky, but also the most rewarding.

--

--

Lovdeep Singh
Cansbridge Fellowship

Schulich Leader '16 | Cansbridge Fellow '18 | Lover of creativity, science, and the environment.