Canvs Spotlight: Atanu Ghosh

Canvs Editorial
Design and Technology
4 min readDec 6, 2016

Please introduce yourself, Could you tell us where you’re from and how you got started in the field?

My name is Atanu Ghosh, I’m from ‘Chandannagar’ — a small town located in the Hooghly District in West Bengal. I completed my schooling from there and moved to Kolkata to continue my studies. I completed my graduation with a Bachelor of Fine Arts(B.F.A) from Ravindra Bharati University in 2008.

After that I moved to Delhi and started working as an Illustrator and storyboard artist in a publishing house. I spent five years in Delhi and worked with several publishing companies before moving to Hyderabad in 2013.

Sejuani Character concept from league of legend games

Could you tell us what your current role and what that encompasses?

Currently I am working as a Lead Concept Artist in a gaming company, Rocksalt interactive Games Pvt Ltd, in Hyderabad.

Super-Spawn

What are some of the challenges you faced getting started as a young designer and making a space for yourself?

As I always believed in hard work, I never faced any such problem to establish myself. There was only way to make space for myself in the industry and that was to ‘keep learning’. And this is the biggest challenge I face. I think all young artists who have just started and want to pursue their career as an artist, shouldn’t stop learning.

What are some of the the major challenges you face in your work now?

As everyone knows the weak parts of their own works, even I am also trying to overcome that to getting my works better. Sometime I feel my works are anatomically and visually incorrect, sometime I find lack of sense in compositions and distributions.

But the next step is to accept the challenge and correct it. Sometimes it is very difficult to easily give up when you are not getting any help from your surroundings. But giving up is not the solution for going forward. Being able to keep gaining knowledge and learning from any where I can are the hardest challenges I face.

Emperor’s New Clothes book cover page

What are some of the ways you deal with challenges like burnout, how do you get back to a good headspace in those moments?

I talk to other artists and exchange ideas whenever I run into a block. When work really gets to me though, I take a break and travel. A change of scenery always helps let me see things with a fresh set of eyes.

The destroyer( Mech Girl)

What’s some of the best career advice you’ been given?

The best career advice I’ve received it to acknowledge and appreciate the skills we have. Trust in yourself, and it’ll help move you onwards while making sure your life gets better in the process.

Old king.

What does your workspace look like? What tools and equipment let you do what you do?

Sometime messy, some time clean and organised. It depends on the mood. Sometime its looks like a tornado hit it. But I can find everything I need and that’s all that matters.

I always have a set of headphones, a Pen Tablet(a Wacom Intuos 5 Touch), an iPad, a mobile phone, some books, sketch pads, pencils & pens in and around my workspace. In terms of softwares, I mostly use Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator and ZBrush. I’ve recently started learning more 3D softwares to help with my illustrations.

Atanu’s Workspace

And lastly, where do you see yourself heading with your design? Whats the dream that motivates you?

My dream is to establish myself as an independent concept artist. I intend to dedicate my life into setting up a well facilitated art studio for deserving Indian artists.

Here’s where you can see more of Atanu’s fantastic works:

www.canvs.in/portfolio/atanu-ghosh/

--

--

Canvs Editorial
Design and Technology

Meaningful stories and insightful analyses on design | Check out our work: www.canvs.in | Our newsletter: www.designtechweekly.com