Canvs Spotlight: Danny Jose

Canvs Editorial
Canvs
Published in
5 min readNov 22, 2016
Danny Jose

Please introduce yourself, Could you tell us where you’re from and how you got started in the field?

My name is Danny Jose. I am a paranoid, sulking, introvert who looks at the world around and hopes that all of it is a simulation. My avatar in the sim, draws for a living.

My folks are from Kerala, but I haven’t lived there. I did my schooling across many states in India, and I feel like an outsider everywhere. So when people ask me where I am from, I tell them I’m an orphan. They stop asking questions.

I did my engineering. Yeah, another sob story. I was looking forward to doing product design after engineering but that did not materialize. A friend of mine introduced me to wacom (when I was unemployed and broke) a few years back and I started fiddling with it. I looked up some tutorials, sketched a bunch of stuff, sent it out to studios and here I am. It all sounds easy now, but those were humble beginnings.

What happens next will blow your mind

Could you tell us what your current role and what that encompasses?

I was working as lead artist for an animation studio in Bangalore. I worked on illustrations, concept art, character designs etc. I quit the job a while back.

I do exactly the same things now, independently.

Daughter of Shadow

What are some of the challenges you faced getting started as a young designer and making a space for yourself?

When I first started out, I was intimidated by the softwares, the market, and the skill level out there. I thought I wouldn’t be able to catch up with the tech, and the talent pool that art schools pump out every year. With the power of the internet, and with the help of considerate artists, who publish their techniques online, I was able to learn and practice art digitally. School is old school.

Also I do not view myself as an artist or a designer. I think I am an opportunist who can hustle with tech. I can’t hold a paintbrush.

I ain’t scared of you

What are some of the the major challenges you face in your work now?

When you work for a studio you just have to concentrate on your craft. The business side of it is handled by someone else. I am really bad with numbers, documents and procedures. So the challenge I face right now is getting to learn the trade. I’ve got to treat my skill as a business and sell it, negotiate and close deals and keep the pipeline full; none of which I had to worry about when I was an employee.

Dream Big

What are some of the ways you deal with challenges like burnout, how do you get back to a good headspace in those moments?

It’s illegal. I can’t really elaborate.

On a serious note, when I work on an illustration and things aren’t going right, I don’t leave it and go do something else. I can never have peace of mind if I do that. I work and rework until I get it right. It’s really annoying, but I’ve done this long enough to understand that producing bad designs is part of the process. It is frustrating and rewarding at the same time.

Mutant Elephant

What’s some of the best career advice you’ been given?

To be honest, I’ve never received any career advice. I don’t meet many people who do what I do.

I do have mentors who I regularly seek opinion from on design, tech etc. I also fortunately have a friends circle who regularly discuss art, cinema, design, tech, games etc. I think it has helped me a huge deal in every way.

Gatekeeper

What does your workspace look like? What tools and equipment let you do what you do?

  1. A kickass PC with neat specs and a large monitor. I hate working on laptops.
  2. Wacom Intuos pro, my soul mate for life.
  3. Britannia Good Day Chunkies.
Danny’s Workspace

And lastly, where do you see yourself heading with your design? Whats the dream that motivates you?

Every time I start with a project or illustration, I try to focus on one element throughout. Quality. Quality in work and storytelling is what I try to pursue every time. This is how I aspire to add value to my services, and that is what, I believe, would make your client come back to you for more work. My only dream is to live off this skill I developed, until my simulation is terminated.

Don’t miss out on taking a look at Danny’s portfolio: https://www.canvs.in/portfolio/danny-jose/

--

--

Canvs Editorial
Canvs
Editor for

Meaningful stories and insightful analyses on design | Check out our work: www.canvs.in | Our newsletter: www.designtechweekly.com