Canvs Spotlight — George Koruth

Canvs Editorial
Design and Technology
4 min readDec 27, 2016
GEORGE KORUTH

Please introduce yourself, Could you tell us where you’re from and how you got started in the field?

I’m George Koruth and I’m from Kerala, to be more specific from Trivandrum.

I never wanted or planned to be a photographer, I’m a Doctor and during my college life it’s pure frustration that forced me to look out of my box.

So it started more like taking a break from my hectic college life, but the break, turned to be something really interesting and it helped me to mature as a person . I started traveling all over India with a modest camera. Life has never been the same after that.

Maximum City

Could you tell us what your current role and what that encompasses?

Being a doctor I usually like to work in places which is cut of from the mainland and where doctors are very much required, working in a place like that gives you immense satisfaction. This also helps me as a Documentary Photographer & I’m exposed to issues and problems the villagers or tribals face. For the last one year, I am living in Wayanad & have been doing finishing touches.

I also do commercial photography which is anything minus fashion, mostly into food and architecture.

Naga Sadhu — Varanasi

What are some of the challenges you faced getting started as a photographer and making a space for yourself?

My first challenge was to get out of the safe and secured career to do something which is totally unpredictable. But I always made sure I listen to my heart first.

When I started photography nearly ten years back things were different, there was less social media around & to meet the right people to guide was difficult. I think it was my true passion that helped me connect with the right people. Internally, I used to get a DSLR for rent, I did weddings & sold individual photos.

The major challenge now is that photography is being exploited by the big camera brands & the buyers. Big brands have so many options now that they really don’t need a professional. Obviously everyone is calling themselves a photographer, so one who wants to make a living out of this is facing bigger challenge.

Miles of Lines

What are some of the ways you deal with challenges like burnout, how do you get back to a good headspace in those moments?

I have few friends who are very encouraging and give me honest feedback & also I’m a person who is always on the move. When you are always moving, you are always surrounded around by new things and new people and as a photographer that always keeps me excited. Other than that I love trekking, going on a long drive with my motorcycle. Some of my best project ideas I get when I’m riding my motorcycle.

Unseen truth of our cities

What’s some of the best career advice you’ been given?

Photography is a very challenging and rewarding career, but if you are a person who is unique and passionate, success is not far and no-one can stop you.

Rickshawala breaths in fresh sunlight

What does your workspace look like? What tools and equipment let you do what you do?

Interesting question, my work space can be a bus stand in Varanasi or a cattle farm in Madhya Pradesh or a temple pond in Madurai or the street market in Chiang mai Thailand. I’m never in one place, so wherever I am, becomes my workplace. Currently I’m writing this from Karaikudi while on a project.

The equipments I use: Camera Nikon DSLR D7000, D810 & Sony RX100.

Fisherman’s Village

And lastly, where do you see yourself heading with your design? What is the dream that motivates you?

My dream keeps evolving & I will be focusing more on international projects & exhibitions in the coming years.

Don’t miss out on taking a look at George Koruth’s portfolio: https://www.canvs.in/portfolio/george-koruth/

--

--

Canvs Editorial
Design and Technology

Meaningful stories and insightful analyses on design | Check out our work: www.canvs.in | Our newsletter: www.designtechweekly.com