Canvs Spotlight- Shannon Mikhail Lobo

Canvs Editorial
Canvs
Published in
4 min readJan 25, 2017
Shannon Mikhail Lobo

Please introduce yourself, Could you tell us where you’re from and how you got started in the field?

My name is Shannon Mikhail Lobo and I am a Bombay based photographer and graphic designer. I grew up in Central and South Bombay and went to St Xavier’s College, Mumbai which is where I developed my love for photography and got an introduction to other art forms. It all started back in 2009 in my first year of college when I got myself a Nokia camera phone. Yes, a Nokia. The camera on that phone was pretty sick and that’s how I started shooting and observing things around me.

I would go around shooting random street corners, interesting spaces and what I believed to be the vibe of Bombay. I displayed some of this work in a Xavier’s photography exhibition once and it garnered a lot of appreciation. I think that was the first time I realized that this was something I could do with my life. I saved up some money and bought my first camera and that’s when my journey as a visual artist began.

Could you tell us what your current role and what that encompasses?

I am currently a photographer with the Times Internet group. This involves developing ideas for new stories and shooting stories for their websites. I am also currently studying design at the Ecole Intuit Lab, Mumbai which is something I’ve always had a passion for. I enjoy combining my photography and design skills to create a unique visual art form.

What are some of the challenges you faced getting started as a young designer and making a space for yourself?

I started out as a photographer and that will always be the art form I will go back to for inspiration. Photography is a very expensive hobby. It took me some time to buy my first camera and equipment. Till date it can sometimes be very expensive. But other than that I think photography was an up and coming profession right around the time I got interested in it and initially it was difficult to develop a unique style and space. But you have to keep challenging yourself as this medium is constantly evolving at a rapid pace.

What are some of the the major challenges you face in your work now?

I tend to get bored with one style or space easily and I’m constantly looking for new or innovative ways to express myself. While it sounds great, it can sometimes be the complete opposite. Inspiration doesn’t always strike and I tend to get quite frustrated doing the same thing over and over again. I take inspiration from music, art, film and everyday life experiences.

What are some of the ways you deal with challenges like burnout, how do you get back to a good headspace in those moments?

I don’t think there is one particular way. I don’t think you can control when inspiration will strike. I think my way of dealing with it is to just keep working and be patient.

What’s some of the best career advice you’ been given?

I can’t say I’ve listened to the career advice I’ve been given because I wouldn’t be doing what I am today. Listen to yourself and periodically assess what you’ve been doing is the best way to go about it according to me.

What does your work space look like? What tools and equipment let you do what you do?

My head is my workspace. That’s where everything happens. But if there’s one thing I like it’s lots of screens. I need multiple screens to get all my work done and I enjoy information being thrown at me from all directions.

And lastly, where do you see yourself heading with your design? What’s the dream that motivates you?

I’m still figuring that out for myself I guess. I will continue to reinvent myself and use different art forms to project myself and always keep it real.

Check more of Shannon’s work

Canvs Portfolio: https://www.canvs.in/portfolio/shannon-mikhail-lobo/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/shannonmikhaillobo/

--

--

Canvs Editorial
Canvs
Editor for

Meaningful stories and insightful analyses on design | Check out our work: www.canvs.in | Our newsletter: www.designtechweekly.com